The Telegraph
Wednesday , January 22 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Raiganj win for Cong

Raiganj, Jan. 21: The Congress’s Chhatra Parishad swept the elections to the students’ union of Raiganj University College by winning all 55 seats.

The Trinamul Congress Chhatra Parishad fielded candidates in 48 seats and lost in all.

Congress and Chhatra Parishad leaders hailed the victory as a “just reply” by the students to the Trinamul Congress’s “efforts to create anarchy in educational institutions”.

On January 5, 2012, the teacher in-charge, Dilip De Sarkar, was heckled and roughed up by Trinamul leaders and Trinamul Congress Chhatra Parishad supporters, leading to tension on the campus.

The working president of the district Trinamul Congress, Tilak Chowdhury, and other leaders of the party had allegedly dragged De Sarkar out of his chamber by the scruff of his neck. The Trinamul Congress Chhatra Parishad had gone to the college demanding security while filing nominations in the union elections.

The Chhatra Parishad had been in control of the union.

Following the outrage at the attack on the teacher-in-charge, the Trinamul Congress district set-up was revamped. Tilak Chowdhury and the party’s district president, Asim Ghosh, were removed from their posts. Itahar MLA, Amal Acharjee, was put in charge of the district as president.

Raiganj Congress MP Deepa Das Munshi said: “In 2012, the Trinamul Congress had beaten up the teacher-in-charge and ransacked his chamber and the college premises…. Now that the students have got an opportunity to vote, they expressed their rejection of the TMCP by giving Chhatra Parishad a total majority.”

The district president of the Trinamul Congress Chhatra Parishad, Ajoy Sarkar, blamed the Chhatra Parishad for creating panic among contestants.


  • January 22: Cooch Behar
  • January 27: Malda
  • January 27: Jalpaiguri
  • January 27, 28: Siliguri
  • January 28: North Dinajpur
  • January 29: South Dinajpur