The Telegraph
Tuesday , January 21 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Janasadharan, NE TV march into next round

Guwahati, Jan. 20: Janasadharan and NE TV progressed into the next round winning their respective matches of the Inter-Media T20 Cricket Tournament which got under way at Judges Field here today.

In the first match of the day, Janasadharan got the better of Assam Photo Journalists Association by 57 runs in the inaugural match.

Batting first, Janasadharan put up 123 runs for the loss of four wickets in their stipulated 15 overs. Abuddin Khan topscored with 62 runs off 39 balls while Rajendra Gautam contributed 32 runs off 36 deliveries. In reply, Assam Photo Journalists Association was bundled out for 66 runs in 13 overs. Rituraj Konwar was the lone notable scorer with 22 runs off 23 balls. Abuddin Khan, Basistha Phukan, Rajendra Gautam and Sachin scalped two wickets each.

In the second match of the day, NE TV got the better of News Time Assam by eight wickets.

News Time Assam could only manage 71 runs for the loss of seven wickets in their stipulated overs.

Bikram Phukan and Kaushik Bortamuli scored 19 and 14 runs respectively while Hrishi and Pranab Barman scalped two wickets each.

Chasing the total, NE TV eased past the target losing two wickets in 9.3 overs.

Pranab Barman scored 34 runs off 71 balls while Lenin Saurav chipped in with a run a ball 18. Tapan Talukdar and Bikram Phukan picked up one wicket each.

Dainik Janambhumi will play News Live in the first match of the day while Ajir Dainik Batori will face The Assam Tribune in the second match tomorrow.