The Telegraph
Tuesday , January 21 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Nongchup ride ahead

Imphal, Jan. 20: Nongchup Pana Sagol Kangjei (A) galloped past Nagamapal Youth Polo Club (B) by 5-1 goals in the 29th N. Hazari and N. Tombi state-level Polo Tournament at Mapal Kangjeibung today.

The Nongchup Pana riders set an aggressive pace but ill-calculated shots cost them many opportunities to score, rendering the first chukker goalless.

S. Sharat Singh set the tone for the Nagamapal Youth team, scoring the opening goal in the second chukker.

However, the Nongchup Pana team stepped up its efforts, with Th. Rishikanta Singh striking two quick goals to post a 2-1 goal lead in the second chukker.

The third chukker also went goalless.

In the fourth chukker, Nongchup Pana riders Th. Rishikanta, M. Roshan and Prakash Bhandari struck a goal each for the comfortable victory, en route to the second round of the meet.

In the other matches, Chingkheihunba Polo Club (A) trounced Meiraba Polo Club (B) by 11-1 goals.

L. Atangba scored five goals while L. Lokeshor struck three goals, Y. Suraj fetched two goals and Y. Roman got one goal for Chingkheihunba Polo Club.

Ch. Ajit scored the lone goal for Meiraba Polo Club.

Eastern Students Club (A) drubbed Thangmeiband Youth Polo Club by 16-2 goals to sail into the second round of the tournament.

Referees appointed: The AIFF has appointed three referees as match officials for the Second Division League 2013-14 with Ph. Lanthoiba deputed at Gangtok and Latif Ali and Ajit Meitei at Dhanbad next month.

The AIFF also appointed Ph. Lanthoiba as a match official for the 68th National Championship for Santosh Trophy in Mizoram.