The Telegraph
Friday , January 17 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Assam kids shine in chops
- Action at national karate meet begins at twin venues

Assam and Madhya Pradesh (MP) hogged the limelight on the opening day of 26th National Karate Championship, which kicked off simultaneously at two venues — New Badminton Hall and Mohan Ahuja Stadium on Thursday.

Hosts Jharkhand had clinched two medals — a silver and a bronze — till reports last came in.

In both kata and kumite categories, Assam led the tally with seven medals — two golds, three silver and two bronze. Madhya Pradesh stood second with six — two gold, one silver and three bronze. Gujarat occupied the third slot with five medals — two gold, one silver and two bronze.

Himamon J. opened the account for Assam by claiming the top slot in girls’ kata category in the eight-nine age group, while Maharashtra’s Neha Kumari clinched silver. Uttar Pradesh’s Alka Kumari and MP’s Rabbani Hassan jointly bagged bronze.

MP’s Jigyasha Kachi won the eves’ kata gold in the seven-eight age group while state mate Sakshi John took home the silver. Kerala’s Neetha Fatima and Assam’s Shyaman Tika finished joint bronze medallists.

The other kata contests in the girls’ category saw Bhargav Shanti of Maharashtra slotting home the gold in the nine-10 age group, while Krishty Diganta of Assam won the silver. Jharkhand’s Ravina Raj and Kerala’s Jashna P.P. got bronze.

In the kata boys’ seven-eight age group contest, Gujarat’s Acharya Aryan claimed the yellow metal while Jharkhand’s Akash Raj pocketed silver. Yashish Varharia of Gujarat and Assam’s Prabal Pratinga finished joint bronze winners.

“I felt nice after winning silver. But winning gold would have made me happier,” said seven-year-old Akash Raj of Jamshedpur

The kumite events for girls saw Sagarika Bora of Assam reigning supreme in the seven-eight age group. Uttar Pradesh’s Sara Mahesh bagged second spot, while MP’s Jigyasha Kachi and Uttar Pradesh’s Arushi Sharma won bronze.

In the kumite competition for boys in the 7-8 age group, Gujarat’s Yashish Vaghela clinched the gold while state mate Aryan Acharya pocketed the silver.

Md Sameer of Bihar and Bhushan Vijay of Gujarat managed bronze medals.