The Telegraph
Sunday , January 12 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Proud to make the game popular in India: Kapil

Mumbai: Former India captain Kapil Dev was honoured with the C K Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award by the Board of Control for Cricket in India, at its seventh annual awards ceremony, here on Saturday.

Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin was bestowed with the Polly Umrigar Award for being India’s best international cricketer.

Ashwin received a trophy and a cheque for Rs 5 lakh. Sachin Tendulkar (2006-07 and 2009-10), Virender Sehwag (2007-08), Gautam Gambhir (2008-09), Rahul Dravid (2010-11) and Virat Kohli (2011-12) have won the award in previous years.

Kapil became the 21st cricketer to be honoured with the C K Nayudu Award. “I believe all of us should feel proud for making the game popular in the country,” the 1983 World Cup winning captain said, after accepting the award.

R G (Bapu) Nadkarni, Farokh Engineer and the late Eknath Solkar were felicitated for their contribution to Indian cricket.

Solkar’s widow received the posthumous award. The awards comprise a memento and Rs 15 lakh each.

The India team was present at the function. They leave for New Zealand on Sunday morning. Also present were Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman and Sourav Ganguly.