The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Five names in fray for DGP post

Guwahati, Jan. 4: Five names were shortlisted by the Assam Security Commission today for the appointment of the next Assam director-general of police.

The present DGP, J.N. Choudhury, will soon join as director-general of the elite National Security Guards. Choudhury, a 1989-batch IPS officer of Assam cadre, had been appointed DGP in January 2012.

Sources in Dispur said the five names discussed in the commissionís meeting today are Khagen Sarma, director-general of Assam police (homeguards), D.K. Pathak (special DG, CPRF), Kulbir Kishan, DG (homeguards, Meghalaya), R.P. Tawal, additional DG, SSB and Rajendra Singh, chairman, Assam Police Housing Board. Chief minister Tarun Gogoi heads the eight-member commission.

Sources said the commission would discuss the track records of the shortlisted names before finalising the new DGP and send it to Gogoi for approval.

Talking to reporters yesterday, Choudhury had emphasised the need to improve the professionalism of Assam police personnel and proper financial management for its modernisation.

He had initiated many steps for modernisation of the police force, including fresh recruitment and better training programmes to improve police-public relations.