The Telegraph
Saturday , July 27 , 2013
CIMA Gallary

Magor A retain title

Williamson Magor As (from left) Aditya Khaitan, Vivek Seth, Jayanta Gohain and Lakshman Singh with The Telegraph Cup, on Friday. A Telegraph picture

Calcutta: Williamson Magor A retained the Division I title of The Telegraph Merchants’ Cup, at the Royal Calcutta Golf Club, on Friday. Magor A finished with a final score of 225.

The Merchants’ Cup and the Challenge Cup are presented by The Telegraph, in association with Ballantine’s.

For Major A, Lakshman Singh had a poor day in office with a round of 80. However, McLeod & Co.’s Pradip Bajoria could only hit a 77 in the final round, which was not enough to topple Magor A’s score, and finished runners-up with a team total of 233. The second runners-up in the division was Williamson Magor B with a team total of 234.

In Division II, McLeod Russel B, led by KK Baheti, clinched the title after finishing with a team total of 248, one stroke ahead of McLeod Russel I, who finished with a total of 249.

In Division 3, Emami, led by Manish Goenka, won with a team total of 238 followed by ONGC (249). DBS Bank won The Telegraph Challenge Cup edging out South India Projects by virtue of the Callaway System. Earlier, the two teams were tied even after using the fourth card tie-breaker.

Eventually, DBS won on the total of the back nine of all four cards played on the Callaway System. They were represented by Tejen Banerjee, Mayukh Ray, Atanu Mukherjee, Deep Banerjee. The runners-up team included Akash Tantia, Raghav Khaitan, Ambarish Khaitan, Siddharth Tantia, and they put up a total of 215.

Emars Green won the third spot with a score of 216. Bajoria won the spot prize for the straightest drive on Hole 5. Gaurav Ghosh of J Thomas A won the prize for the Ballantine’s long drive on Hole 10. Abhay Pasari and Sachin Goenka shared the award for hitting closest to the pin.