The Telegraph
Friday , April 12 , 2013
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Hot seat goes to social worker

Dablu Bauri has been elected the new chairman of Chirkunda Nagar Panchayat.

The 35-year-old social worker of Nehru Road area of Taldanga defeated his nearest rival Murli Turi by 2,052 votes. Bauri secured 12,948 votes while Turi, winner of 2008 polls, managed 10,896 votes.

Twenty candidates were vying for the chairman’s post for which polls were held on April 7 across 73 booths in Chirkunda. Elections were also held for 20 posts of ward councillors. Counting of votes took place at Government Polytechnic, Nirsa, (formerly Mining Institute, Dhanbad).

BDO of Nirsa Priti Kisku, who was electoral officer for ward Nos. 1 to 10, announced the names of winners — Bharti Kumari (ward 1), Rani Desai (ward 2), Dina Nath (ward 3), Mohammed Kalam (ward 4), Nurjahan Khatun (ward 5), Arun Kanti Goswami (ward 6), Munmum Goswami (ward 7), Firoj Ansari (ward 8), Sajda Khatoon (ward 9) and Varuni Devi (ward 10).

Similarly, Govindpur BDO Sanjeev Kumar announced names of newly-elected councillors of ward Nos. 11 to 20 — Irfan Ahmad Khan (ward 11), Ambika Paswan (ward 12), Nilu Sinha (ward 13), Abhay Rakha (ward 14), Manju Devi (ward 15), Mita Bauri (ward 16), Sunita Devi (ward 17), Manju Shri Gorai (ward 18), Durga Das Gorai (ward 19) and Manik Kanjilal (ward 20).

Bauri said: “If the people have voted for me, it means they have faith in me. I will put in my best efforts for the development of Chirkunda.”

Outgoing chairman Turi said winning and losing were part the game. “I am happy that I secured the second position among 20 candidates. I had worked for welfare of the people,” said Turi.