The Telegraph
Tuesday , March 5 , 2013
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Top body-builders in meet

Guwahati, March 4: Thirty top body-builders of the country will flex their muscles in the 24th edition of Mr Saraighat R.G. Baruah All-India Classic Body-Building Championship at Tarun Ram Phookan indoor stadium here on March 9.

The meet is being organised by the Assam Body-Builders and Fitness Association under the aegis of Indian Body-Builders Federation (IBBF).

“We have invited 20 ranked body-builders through a letter to IBBF general secretary Chetan Pathare. Some of them include Ankur Sharma of Haryana, Sangram Chougule of Maharashtra, Javed Ali Khan of Indian Railways, Dhiraj Jaiswal of Delhi and Vijay Bahadur of Uttar Pradesh,” the association’s general secretary Bhabajyoti Goswami told reporters here today.

Assam will have six participants. “A. Bobby Singh, Dilip Dewri, Deepjyoti Phukan, Debo Mili, Nikunja Domai and Manoj Nath were selected after a trial in Sivasagar on Saturday,” Goswami said.

The championship will be held in one group and will have prize money of Rs 2.4 lakh. The top 10 body-builders of the meet will get cash awards.

“The winner and runners-up will bag Rs 75,000 and Rs 50,000 respectively. The third placed body-builder will get Rs 30,000, the fourth Rs 20,000 and the fifth Rs 15,000. The sixth to tenth placed body-builders will get Rs 10,000 each,” he added.

Transport and tourism minister Chandan Brahma will inaugurate the meet.