The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

State out of eve’s inter-zonal T20 league

Jharkhand crashed out of the senior women’s inter-zonal T20 cricket league by suffering their third successive defeat on Monday, losing to Tripura by three wickets at Shahid Nirmal Mahto Stadium.

Opting to bat first, the hosts continued their poor show as the batswomen cut a sorry figure against a disciplined Tripura that restricted them to a paltry 96 for eight.

Barring an unbeaten 34 (32 balls, 3x4) by Niharika Prasad and 23 (28 balls, 3x4) by Priyanka Sawaiya, no one made any substantial contribution.

Tripura’s Rita Debbarma stuck to a tidy line and length to pick up 2/15 in her four overs. Sweety Sinha, Annapurna Das and Shilpi Debbarma claimed one wicket apiece.

The visitors attained the target with five balls to spare. Annapurna laid the foundation with a fine 31 (41 balls, 4x4) before she was run out by a direct throw from Kanak Lata. Jharkhand managed to evict openers Mouchity Debnath and Banasree Sarkar with just 11 runs the board but Annapurna saw her team through.

Jharkhand had lost their first tie to Odisha by 8 wickets and suffered a 7-wicket drubbing at the hands of Assam.

In the other outing of the day at Keenan Stadium, Bengal lost to Odisha by three wickets. Bengal only managed 95 for seven. Odisha lost wickets regularly, but K.A. Mohakud (40, 61 balls, 2x4) and Swagatika Rath (45 balls, 5x4) rescued the team.