The Telegraph
Thursday , February 14 , 2013
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Penn brace in EB win

Penn Orji celebrates one of his goals, at the Salt Lake Stadium, on Wednesday. Andrew Barisic is also in the picture. A Telegraph picture

Calcutta: Kingfisher East Bengal made it three wins on the trot in the CFL Super Nine stage, whipping Kalighat MS 4-0 with Penn Orji scoring a brace, at the Salt Lake Stadium, on Wednesday.

Coach Trevor James Morgan’s men started off in the best possible manner, taking the lead as early as in the seventh minute when Andrew Barisic, fired home a long-ranger, off a Subodh Kumar centre, his second goal in the red-and-gold jersey.

But, East Bengal could have sealed the issue in the first half had they not squandered a barrage of chances.

Barisic, soon after scoring the opener, missed a sitter by sending his left-footer way over the horizontal, off Cavin Lobo’s centre.

Striker Manandeep Singh and Penn Orji too had relatively easy opportunities at their disposal but failed to make them count.

Letting go of chances did not hurt East Bengal, but their performance in the second session wasn’t very impressive, which Morgan pointed out at the end of the match.

“No doubt, we finished the game well, but it took us a lot of time to do so.

“Chances were again missed… Nonetheless, we shouldn’t be too disappointed with the end result.

“There are plenty of matches ahead. So we need to focus on them,” Morgan said.

It turned out to be hilarious mistake from rival goalkeeper Suvam Sen that put East Bengal on the driving seat.

Suvam committed a schoolboy-like error, failing to pouch a straightforward shot from Sanju Pradhan that sneaked through his gloves to double East Bengal’s lead in the 72 nd minute.

Thereafter, Penn stepped up with a double strike to sum up the proceedings for the defending champions.

The Nigerian first scored with a curling left-footer and then followed it up with a wonderfully taken free-kick seconds before the final whistle.


East Bengal: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Robert Lalthlamuana (Saumik Dey, 68 th minute), Uga Okpara, Sunil Kumar, Naoba Singh, Cavin Lobo (Lalrindika Ralte, 64 th minute), Subodh Kumar, Penn Orji, Sanju Pradhan, Manandeep Singh (Baljit Sahni, 62 nd minute), Andrew Barisic

Kalighat MS: Suvam Sen, Arijit Bagui, Abhijit Majumder, Rana Gharami, Supriya Bhakat, R. Kasomwoshi (Krishanu Das, 83 rd minute), Kallol Pal, Zodinliana (Kazi Kutubuddin, 82 nd minute), Tanmoy Kundu, James Gbilee (Rajib Ekka, 88 th minute), Christopher Chizoba

Referee: Bapi Dey