The Telegraph
Friday , February 8 , 2013
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Jamshedpur keep trophy

- Tiwary & his boys drub Bokaro by five wickets in final

Captain Saurabh Tiwary and Co. powered Jamshedpur to a five-wicket win over Bokaro and retained the senior inter-district (Elite) cricket tournament for HP Bodhanwala Trophy on Thursday. A half century by opener Vishal Singh and responsible batting by Ashish Yadav and the skipper sealed the deal for the hosts.

The final clash turned out to be a one-sided affair at Keenan Stadium with Jamshedpur romping home in 39 overs. Chasing a modest target of 183 posted by Bokaro, the home team stitched the required runs through Vishalís 53 (82 balls, 5x4), Yadavís brisk 45 (51 balls, 7x4) and a composed 40 (63 balls, 2x4) from Tiwary.

Vishal, who had captained the Jharkhand under-19 team last season, was unfazed after the early dismissal of partner Aakash Verma at 18. The young right-hander batted with responsibility and rebuilt the innings by sharing a 76-run partnership with Yadav for the second wicket.

Yadav batted fluently to keep the scorecard ticking. He was dismissed by Keshav Kumar as he neared his half century. Tiwary joined Vishal when the team was on 63 and settled into a nice groove. The southpaw battled sedately to pull his team closer to the target.

Vishal and Tiwary added 41 for the third wicket before the former was finally sent off by R. Sharma. Tiwary was joined by Jharkhand batting mainstay Ishank Jaggi and the two worked out a short, but vital partnership of 32.

Jaggi scored a quickfire 27 (14 balls, 2x4, 2x6) before falling prey to Keshav. But by that time, Jamshedpur needed just 17 runs to claim the trophy. Bokaro managed to evict Rameez Nemat for a duck. That did not deter Tiwary and Sunny Gupta, who easily steered the team to victory.

For Bokaro, medium-pacer captain Keshav Kumar picked 3/25 while seamer Raju Yadav and Sandeep Gupta managed one wicket each. The rivalís innings was based on a polished 58 (70 balls, 3x4, 1x6) by Keshav. Opener Nishant Kumar chipped in with 33 (69 balls, 4x4).

Offie Sunny Gupta was the top wicket-taker for Jamshedpur with 3/37 while seamer Jaskaran Singh claimed 2/31.

Tiwary managed one against his name.

Jharkhand State Cricket Association (JSCA) vice-president B.N. Singh handed over the trophies to the champions.

 More stories in Jharkhand

  • Roshni waits for 100th donor
  • Jharcraft godparent for child labourers
  • Haunting voice that knows no borders
  • Mecon parks get new life
  • Munda takes dig at JMM
  • Drunk driving claims 6
  • Tatanagar third eye on tidiness
  • Jamshedpur keep trophy
  • Feb. 13 meet to address city bus woes
  • Extra day of fun at Xavier Utsav
  • Rajkamal is DC of Bokaro
  • Power board split in four months
  • Shooter 'shot', target survives
  • Biker death spurs 4-hour roadblock
  • Land for SMP displaced still to be acquired
  • Water protests stall Jharia traffic
  • Two faces of makeover in capital
  • Fudge finger at city bus service
  • Protests against mobile tower
  • Tribal rights meet on Feb. 23
  • Warrior car rolls out
  • Tech tab on college teachers
  • Bar on phones in exam halls
  • Andhra firm gets cluster nod