The Telegraph
Thursday , February 7 , 2013
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Bokaro bags berth in Elite final

Jamshedpur will lock horns with Bokaro in the senior inter-district (Elite) cricket tournament for HP Bodhanwala Trophy at Keenan Stadium on Thursday.

In the tourney’s last match on Wednesday, the home team defeated Bokaro by 49 runs. But, the latter found a berth in the summit clash by edging out Dhanbad with better run rate. While Bokaro notched +2.097, Dhanbad’s score remained -0.346. Jamshedpur has topped with a run rate of +3.251.

Batting first at Keenan, Jamshedpur scored 231 all out in 47.3 overs. Openers Aakash Verma and Rameez Nemat gave a solid start, sharing a 96-run partnership. The former scored 53 of 68 balls, including seven boundaries, while the latter struck a 71-ball 41, with five hits to the fence.

Deobrat Das, a reliable right-hander, showed his prowess with the willow by coming up with a polished 45 of 60 balls. He added 43 runs for the third wicket with skipper Saurabh Tiwary before falling to R. Sharma, when the team score read 157. The in-form Tiwary did not score many runs, managing 23 of 21 balls. Charan Kamal inched the Jamshedpur score forward, striking a 37-ball 25.

Offie Rahul Mishra emerged the top wicket-taker for Bokaro with 3/63, while skipper Keshav Kumar felled one.

Bokaro’s chase ended at 182 with opener Sandeep Gupta scoring the best 53 of 90 balls. The visitors lost two quick wickets with just 12 on board, but Gupta and Keshav registered a 76-run partnership for the third wicket to keep hopes alive. However, their departure made the task difficult for Bokaro, who were finally dismissed in 48 overs.

Kumar Deobrat tried hard with a fine 38 of 48 balls, but he did not get adequate support from other batsmen.

Interestingly, Tiwary, who rarely bowls was the top wicket-taker with 3/38. Mithun Mukherjee and Prashant Rahul picked up 2/20 and 2/2, respectively, while Pawan Kumar, Jaivik Yadav and Sujit Yadav claimed one each.