The Telegraph
Thursday , January 31 , 2013
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Steel cities shine in district cricket

Jamshedpur and Bokaro posted comfortable wins on the opening day of the senior inter-district (elite) cricket tournament for HP Bodhanwala Trophy on Wednesday.

The former beat Hazaribagh by 9 wickets at Shahid Nirmal Mahto Stadium while Bokaro tasted a handsome 143-run win over Dhanbad at Telco ground in Jamshedpur.

An unbeaten 82 by skipper Vishal Singh and a confident 59 by Ashish Yadav helped Jamshedpur’s cause while chasing a target of 155 presented by Hazaribagh. Jamshepdur attained the target in just 20 overs.

Vishal’s, the Jharkhand under-19 captain, runs came in just 62 balls and contained 9 boundaries and 5 towering sixes.

The hapless Hazaribagh bowlers had no clue how to stop the flow from the 18-year-old’s blade. Vishal and Ashish added 134 runs for the first wicket before the latter was evicted by Sumit Ranjan. Ashish’s runs came in 50 deliveries which included six hits to the fence and four sixes.

Wicket-keeper Kamal Gope and Vishal completed the formalities with an unbeaten 26-run stand.

Hazaribagh’s innings revolved around a fine 70 by Ritesh Rituraj who did not get any support from other batters.

The youngster’s innings came in 92 deliveries and contained nine boundaries and a six. Spearhead Pawan Kumar emerged as the wrecker-in-chief for the visitors with a 4/28. Vishal and Mithun Mukherjee accounted for two victims each.

Rahul Choudhary and Nishant Kumar were the chief architects in Bokaro’s win over a star-studded Dhanbad. The former hammered 54 runs (74 balls, 5x4, 1x6) while registering a 98-run opening partnership with Sandeep Choudhary, who managed 39 (57 balls, 5x4). Sandeep looked set but lost his concentration and gave an easy return catch to Ibnay Hussain Khan.

The two played a handy role in helping their side post a total of 268/3.

Nishant joined Rahul and the two played cautiously to keep the scorecard ticking. Rahul was dismissed by Dhanbad skipper Shahbaz Nadeem. Nishant looked unfazed by the dismissal of his partner but he found able support from Kumar Deobrat (39 runs, 47 balls, 4x4, 1x6) and a quickfire 46 (36 balls,6x4, 1x6) by captain Keshav Kumar.

Dhanbad lost wickets in regular intervals as Bokaro pacer Raju Yadav provided early breakthroughs. barring a patient 50 (86 balls, 3x4) by Ibnay Hussain Khan, other prominent names like Manish Vardhan, Nadeem, Aamir Hashmi and Shashim Rathore failed to come good with the willow.

Dhanbad were dismissed for a paltry 125 in 41.3 overs with Raju picking up 4/15 in 10 overs. Shantanu Singh, Rahul Mishra and Rajendra Sharma claimed two wickets apiece.