The Telegraph
Wednesday , January 30 , 2013
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

City defeat Navarang

Guwahati, Jan. 29: City Cricket Club annexed the 2nd Nilimoy Choudhury invitation T20 cricket tournament, defeating hosts Navarang Club by a narrow margin of only three runs in a nail-biting finish of the final at Judges Field here today.

City elected to bat and rode an unbeaten knock of 85 by Rahul Hazarika to post 150 for seven. Navarang chased the target almost through but fell short by three runs losing seven wickets in 20 overs.

Hazarika’s strokeful knock off 58 balls comprised 13 hits to the ropes and a six. Sunil Ranjan Gogoi scored 18 (4x3) and Amjad Ali chipped in with 11.

Neeraj Tiwari, Ranjit Mali and Bikram Chetri picked up a wicket each in favour of Navarang.

Utpal Medhi (44, 4x7, 6x1) was the topscorer for Navarang while teammates Manoj Malo and Jnan Boro contributed 29 (4x5) and 23 (4x1, 6x1) respectively.

Sunil Ranjan Gogoi and Avay Yadav of City took two wickets each, conceding 17 and 30 runs respectively.

Rahul Hazarika was named Man of the Match and Manoj Malo the Man of the Tournament.

Bhaskar Borah and Romario Sharma of City Cricket Club were adjudged the Best Bowler and batsman respectively. Amit Das of Maharana Athletic Club was named the Best Fielder.