The Telegraph
Sunday , January 20 , 2013
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

BJP first list announced

Shillong, Jan. 19: The Opposition BJP today announced its first list of candidates for the Meghalaya Assembly polls scheduled to be held on February 23.

The list of nine candidates, which was finalised today by the party’s central election committee in New Delhi, also includes a woman. Veecare Nicia Limare will contest from the Nartiang seat in West Jaintia Hills, while Andy Lyngwa is the candidate from Pynthorumkhrah under Shillong limits.

The other candidates include Romeo Phira Rani (East Shillong), Augustine Lakiang (South Shillong), Ehkupar Nongrum (Nongthymmai), Fairly Bert Kharrngi (Nongkrem), Philip Sangma (Rajabala), Bhupendra B. Hajong (Salmanpara) and Sisir Marak (Dalu).

The second list will be released in the next few weeks, state general secretary Dipayan Chakraborty said.

Bike blitz

Kingfisher Blue MILE presented Rider Mania 2013, in association with Stormbingers (Shillong Rider Mania group), India's largest congregation of Royal Enfield bikers, that took off in Sohra (Cherrapunjee) today. The two-day event will continue tomorrow.

The ride, high on adrenaline rush, games and music, became an experience of a lifetime for many biking enthusiasts from across India. Over 600 Royal Enfield bike owners came together from all over the country and participated in an adventure-filled alliance at Pala Resorts, Sohra.

The winter chill and lush landscape provided the perfect setting for these bikers as they rode a distance of 15km.