The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Tripura voter list ready

Agartala, Jan. 8: The Tripura election department is preparing to publish the final electoral roll on January 12, as scheduled by the Election Commission.

“On that day we will hand over the final electoral roll to representatives of political parties just as we handed over the draft electoral roll to them upon publication,” chief electoral officer Ashutosh Jindal said.

Jindal said the draft electoral roll had been published and copies handed over to representatives of political parties on September 20.

The draft roll had altogether 22,77,415 voters for the state’s 60 Assembly constituencies. It had shown an increase of only 2,511 voters compared with the roll published in January 2012.

All 23 SDOs in as many subdivisions had published the roll and handed over to representatives of political parties.

“There had been a change in the period of claims and objections and date for publication of final electoral roll by the Election Commission following objections filed by Opposition Congress and January 12 was fixed as the date for publication of final electoral roll,” Jindal said.

He, however, added that according to the latest order of the commission, eligible voters would be able to have their names enrolled in the list till the last day of filing nomination that will be announced by the Election Commission.

Jindal said the final roll would reflect only marginal changes and corrections, as no major error was found in the draft electoral roll.

Thousands of Congress workers and supporters from Amarpur, Boxanagar, Manu, Rajnagar, Kalyanpur, Khayerpur, Bagbasa, Surma, Pabiacherra and other constituencies in districts and subdivisions arrived here to meet PCC president Sudip Roy Barman.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Biswanath drub Nazira
  • Small growers seek govt help
  • Poll panel admits voter shortfall
  • Clamour for CBI probe into murder
  • Help probe panel, SC tells govts
  • Manipur Cong plea to Nagaland unit
  • Rise in Kokrajhar bike thefts
  • Surabhi tame Nalbari
  • Teachers back VRS decision
  • Bodo youths' 'killers' arrested
  • Keinou beat Anouba 3-1
  • Seminar to delve into Buddhist mysticism
  • Forum meet off after boycott
  • Probe plea into child 'soldiers'
  • Guwahati in semis
  • Dhubri move for 'clean' exams
  • Go organic but mind the cost
  • Cabinet approves ANVC pact
  • Two SBI officials arrested
  • Tripura voter list ready