The Telegraph
Saturday , December 29 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary
Sports Briefs

Indians aim for top slot

Calcutta: India will aim to achieve the No. 1 position in the ICC ODI championship table for the first time ever when they square off against Pakistan in a three-match series, starting in Chennai on Sunday.

The world champions, are ranked third on the table with 120 ratings points, just a rating point behind current No. 1 England and South Africa in second place. England are a fraction of a point ahead of South Africa. If India manage to win the first one-dayer against Pakistan, they will climb to the top of the table with 121 ratings points, which would put them ahead of both England and South Africa by a fraction of a point.

Ruled out

Calcutta: Wicketkeeper-batsman Jonny Bairstow will miss England’s one-day tour of India next month due to an illness in the family. Bairstow has been replaced in the squad by Joe Root, who made his England debut in the fourth Test against India in Nagpur.

Venue change

Calcutta: The BCCI on Friday shifted the third Test of the upcoming India vs Australia series from Kanpur to Hyderabad, citing incomplete construction work at the venue.


First Test (Delhi): February 22 to 26
Second Test (Mohali): March 2 to 6
Third Test (Hyderabad): March 14 to 18
Fourth Test (Chennai): March 22 to 26

Paikpara win

Calcutta: Paikpara Sporting Club beat Suburban Club by nine wickets in the CAB First Division League, on Friday. Batting first, Suburban were bundled out for 45 in 21.4 overs before Paikpara overhauled the target in just 6.3 overs.

Suburban 45 in 21.4 ovs. Paikpara 50/1 in 6.3 ovs.
Paikpara won by nine wkts.
Shyambazar 354/4 in 65 ovs (Alok Sharma 143, Debopam Biswas 113 n.o.) vs George Telegraph
Calcutta Customs 323/5 in 68 ovs (Debopriyo Sur 90, Manash Choubey 63 n.o.) vs Sporting Union
BNR 231/4 in 65 ovs (Ipu Saha 104, Santadeep Pal 50 n.o.) vs Md. Sp.
East Bengal 222/5 in 50 ovs (Writam Porel 65 n.o. Bidyut Adhikary 56) vs DKS
West Bengal Police 307/8 in 77 ovs (Tridib Ghosh 104 n.o.) vs Kalighat
Matches to continue unless otherwise mentioned

Shooting meet

New Delhi: Rajasthan’s Mahaveer Singh and Tejaswini Sawant of Maharashtra were among the shooters to have won the gold medals on the 10th day of the 56th National Shooting Championship.

Top seed held

New Delhi: Abhijeet Gupta held top seed Grandmaster Radoslav Wojtaszek of Poland to an easy draw in the eighth round of the AICF-AAI Cup, on Friday.

Anton Korobov survived anxious moments before signing peace with K. Sasikiran, while Parimarjan Negi split point with Evgeny Alekseev. With just two rounds to go, Korobov and Alekseev stay ahead of the field with 4.5 points each.

Staff Reporter & Agencies