The Telegraph
Wednesday , December 26 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Irfan stands tall

This is the first time a T20 International was played on Christmas day.

It is the first instance of India and Pakistan playing a T20 game as a bilateral series. All previous encounters have been in the T20 World Cups.

At 7.1 ft, Pakistan’s Mohammed Irfan is the tallest-ever International cricketer and also the tallest first-class cricketer of all time.

The Gambhir/Rahane 77-run partnership was the best by this pair in T20Is. The duo have opened in 3 matches with 42 vs England in Pune a few days ago being their previous best.

It also equals the second best opening stand for India in T20Is. Gambhir and Rohit Sharma had put on 77 vs Ireland at Trent Bridge in 2009. The highest remains 136 (Gambhir/Sehwag vs Eng, Durban 2007-08)

After claiming 3/21 Umar Gul now becomes the second highest wicket-taker in T20 Internationals with 65 wickets. Saeed Ajmal remains the highest wicket-taker with 71.

From being 77/0 India scored their last 56 runs for the loss of 9 wkts. However, the worst ever collapse in T20Is will have to be South Africa who went from 84/0 to 133 all out vs NZ, Johannesburg 2005.

Bhuvaneshwar Kumar (4-0-9-3) fell short of the best bowling by a debutant for India in T20Is. Pragyan Ojha had claimed 4/21 vs Bangladesh (Nottingham) 2009.

Bhuvaneshwar Kumar (4-0-9-3) equals the least runs conceded in a 4-over spell for India, which is also 9 runs by Ravindra Jadeja vs Eng, Calcutta, Oct. 2011.

Bhuvaneshwar Kumar equals the record for the least runs conceded in 4 overs by a debutant in T20Is. The details are in the table below.

The fourth wicket stand of (106) between Mohammed Hafeez and Shoaib Malik is the best for Pakistan for the fourth wicket. The previous best was 101 between Younis Khan and Shoaib Malik vs Sri Lanka at Wanderers Sept. 17, 2007.

Pakistan register their first win against India in T20Is in four games.

The last time Pakistan won any match in India was an ODI in Jaipur. They won by 31 runs on 18-11-2007. Interestingly Shoaib Malik (89) who was leading the side top-scored in that as well.