The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Home glory for tourney opener

The Bihar police team dribbled their way to a victory against Andhra Pradesh on Wednesday in the inaugural match of BN Mullik Memorial 61st All India Police Football Championship in the state capital.

The home team, led by IPS and commandant of BMP-5 battalion Jitendra Singh Rana, conceded in the eighth minute of the match before constable Pankaj equalised in the 33rd minute. At the end of the match, Bihar won by 3-1, much to the cheer of the audience at Moinul Haque Stadium. The football fans, going by their slogans — Bihar Police Zindabad — were understandably enthused.

Though both the police teams were at 1-1 at 45 minutes, Bihar dominated the match’s second half. Not only did the players stop Andhra (led by Veera Raju) from scoring again, constable Naveen scored two back-to-back goals for the home team in the 83rd and 85th minutes, clinching victory.

Director-general of police Abhayanand announced a reward, including Rs 15,000 for the winning team captain.

Thirty-one teams of different states and central police organisations are playing in the championship. The league matches will be played in Gaya, Munger, Bettiah, while the semi-finals and final would be hosted in Patna.