The Telegraph
Monday , December 10 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

India finish fourth

Melbourne: India once again returned empty-handed from the Champions Trophy after losing 2-3 in the bronze medal playoff against arch-rivals Pakistan on Sunday.

Pakistan scored through Mohammed Rizwan Junior (22nd minute), Shafqat Rasool (41st) and Mohammed Ateeq (66th). For India, the scorers were V. R. Raghunath (7th) and Rupinder Pal Singh (70th).

In the final, a golden goal by Kieran Govers gave Australia their fifth successive Champions Trophy title as the hosts prevailed 2-1 over the Netherlands.

In the fifth minute of extra-time, Govers’ stinging shot from top of the circle did the trick for the Australians.

The Netherlands had opened the scoring in the 18th minute through a penalty corner conversion by Sander de Wijn, while Australia equalised in the 31st minute on a penalty corner strike by Russell Ford.

Talking about the India-Pakistan match, Raghunath converted a penalty corner by sending a low drag-flick into the left corner to give India the lead.

Pakistan then applied pressure to cause problems for the Indian defence. India, on the other hand, muffed some chances due to their wayward shooting.

Pakistan equalised in the 22nd minute through Rizwan Junior, who sent a shot from top of the circle after being passed by Fareed Ahmed.

India created a lot of openings in the next 10 minutes, but failed to score, and the half-time ended 1-1.

India started the second half by earning a penalty corner, but Raghunath’s shot was too weak to cause any threat to the rival goal.

Pakistan went ahead seven minutes into the second session when Rasool’s shot from close range beat goalkeeper TR Potunuri.

Pakistan extended the lead in the 66th minute when Ateeq converted a penalty corner, sending a carpet shot into the right corner.

India forced two penalty corners in the last two minutes and Rupinder converted the last of their five penalty corners with a firm shot in the 70th minute.