The Telegraph
Wednesday , December 5 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

New faces in chess outfit

The newly elected executive body (2012-13) of East Singhbhum District Chess Association boasts five new names, including that of Calcutta-based Grandmaster Dibyendu Barua.

Authorities said all the office-bearers were selected unanimously during the “polls” held at the conference hall of JRD Tata Sports Complex on November 26.

Besides Barua, the other new entrants are Chiranjee Lal (joint secretary) and Pritam Singh, Purabi Ghosh and A.S.N. Murty (executive members). The executive body is headed by Bimlendra Jha while N.K. Tiwary is the new general secretary. Head of Tata Steel sports department Amitabh and businessman Rajesh Das will continue as vice-presidents.

Barua, an officer with Tata Steel and a vice-president of the All India Chess Federation from Jharkhand, is the new technical director. He replaced Neeraj Kumar Mishra, who resigned last year. Tata Steel MD H.M. Nerurkar is the patron-in-chief of the district panel while Sanjeev Paul, A.B. Lal and C.D. Kamath are patrons.

Interestingly, the so-called election to the district chess body is conducted without secret ballot. The members are “elected” or chosen even before the election is scheduled.

Executive member Jayant Kumar Bhuyan admitted that there was nothing like proper elections. “Though technically, one calls it election, actually it is not so,” he told The Telegraph.

 More stories in Jharkhand

  • Flute for thought at cradles
  • Rs 5cr protest blow to Pandra
  • Big beetle in bonnet for youth power
  • Sessions on study options in UK
  • New faces in chess outfit
  • No clues still to murders
  • Maoist week alert in Bokaro
  • A sunny showpiece in eclipse
  • Cash trouble halts hospital
  • Capital model dons director's cap
  • Power deal today, unions upset
  • No talks on Panem
  • First day cover for steel city cradle
  • 2014 date for new link over river
  • Aah! That elephantine ride to Dalma is set to end
  • Protest with paddy
  • Cabinet nod for NTPC project likely
  • D for dharnas, D for distress