The Telegraph
Monday , December 3 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Assam rule Day 2

Guwahati, Dec. 2: Host Assam inched closer to a first-innings lead trailing by only 24 runs with four wickets intact in their first innings on the second day of the Cooch Behar Trophy (under-19) plate group A match against Jammu and Kashmir at Barsapara cricket stadium here today.

Resuming the first innings chase at overnight 40 for one, the home batsmen played on cautiously to be 226 for six in 105 overs at close today.

Put to bat first, the visitors were all out for 250 in 75 overs yesterday.

Though none of the Assam batsmen could play a long innings, Rajjakuddin Ahmed was the highest scorer of the second day with a 44-run knock, hitting six fours and a six.

Earlier in the day, overnight not out batsman Kaushik Giri contributed a patient 21-run knock, laced with three boundaries.

He shared a 47-run second wicket partnership with nightwatchman Roshan Alam (38, 4x3) while Alam shared another partnership of 39 with Sajid Khan (16, 4x3).

Middle order batsman Sanzow Brahma was batting patiently on 28 stealing singles and twos with Biku Borgohain on 13 at the other end at draw of stumps today.

Yesterday, Alam ripped apart the visitors’ innings with a four for 75 runs haul Biku Borgohain claimed two for 36 before he twisted his ankle.

Opener Ahmed Pandey topscored for J&K with 89 runs, laced with 10 hits to the ropes and three over the ropes. Middle order batsman Abhinav Puri remained unbeaten on a steady 33 while P. Sharma (24, 4x3) was another notable scorer for the side.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Newborn party in statehood cry
  • Satellite aid to contain bush fires
  • Fresh arrest in Gadapani case
  • Plan boost for N-E refineries
  • Dental surgeon 'kills' self
  • Jawan gets 7-yr RI for rape
  • 13 teams to vie for cricket honours
  • Assam rule Day 2
  • Assam eye on global tech forum
  • Elangbam lifters bag gold medals
  • GNLA cadre held in Tura
  • Man injured in firing dies
  • East Khasi Hills lift trophy