The Telegraph
Thursday , November 29 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

3 changes in squad

Bengal made three changes to their Ranji Trophy squad. The selectors replaced openers Partha Sarathi Bhattacharjee and Sreevats Goswami with Arindam Das and Rohan Banerjee, while Gitimoy Basu came in for Writam Porel. Bengal are scheduled to play an away match against Mumbai from December 1.

Amir to lead

Amir Goni will lead the 15-member Bengal squad in the Cooch Behar Trophy (under-19) match against Kerala, to be played in Kalyani from December 1.

The squad

Amir Goni (capt), Ankit Keshri, Shuvam Dey, Himadri Chakraborty, Vivek Singh, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Shreyanshi Ghosh, Priyam Sarkar, Ravikant Singh, Alok Pratap Singh, Suman Debnath, Pritam Chakraborty, Dhanur Goutam, Partha Kundu, Mithilesh Das

EB win

East Bengal thrashed George Telegraph by 276 runs in their AN Ghosh Trophy match, on Wednesday.


At Deshbandhu Park: East Bengal 424/7. George Telegraph 148 (A. Gupta 4/23). East Bengal won by 276 runs

At JU Second Campus ground: Kalighat 359/9. Sporting Union 348 (G. Basu 57, A. Chakraborty 57, M. Ghosh 3/38). Kalighat won by 11 runs

At Town Club: BNR 136. Bhowanipore 138/3. Bhowanipore won by 7 wkts

At Rangers: Police AC 372/6. Town Club 374/3 (N. Ahmed 147 n.o., A. Ghosh 91, R. Sethi 3/70). Town Club won by 7 wkts

Ticket rates

The minimum price of tickets for the December 9 East Bengal-Mohun Bagan Derby is Rs 70. East Bengal announced 35 counters will be set up in and around the city, where tickets will be available from Monday. Other denominations are Rs 100, 150, 200 and 250.

It was announced that 500 children will be given free entry. East Bengal have also decided to play in the AFC Cup.

Eetee wins

Eetee Maheta beat top seed Kyra Shroff 64, 61 to enter the quarter finals of the ITF NBCC Women’s tournament on Wednesday.

Second seed Rutuja Bhosale defeated Rushmi Chakravorty 64, 62, while third seed Rishika Sunkara beat Amrita Mukherjee 60, 63.

Viraj in hunt

Local lad Viraj Maddapa returned with yet another evenpar performance to stay in the hunt for the Toyota IGU Eastern India Juniors Category A (under18) title at the Tollygunge Golf Club on Wednesday.


Manish Jain defeated Shyam Jagtiani 15088, 51150, 15091, 1501 while Akram Khan beat Shakil Ahmed 15163, 126153, 151138, 1511 in the BRC State Senior Billiards Championships matches, here, on Wednesday.