The Telegraph
Wednesday , November 28 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Only boys in the ring

- State picks national school boxing squad

Jharkhand will only send boys to the 58th National School Boxing Championship in Hyderabad as the state sports department reportedly failed to attract a single girl at the two-day selection trials, which ended at JRD Tata Sports Complex, Jamshedpur, on Monday late evening.

Also, all the pugilists of the 15-member team across U-14, U-17 and U-19 groups are from Jamshedpur.

U-14 boys comprise Prem Kumar Das, Krishna Jara, Abhay Bhumij, Madhusudan Soy, Vishal Thapa, Rahul Kacchap and P.K. Srivastava. U-17 team members are Kamalijit Sharma, Ujjwal Sharma Lanka Deogam, Rohan Bernard, Rahul Kumar, Vikas Tiwary and Raunak Mishra. Rahul Kumar Giri is the sole representative of U-19.

Sources said poor communication by the sports department led to the trials becoming a one-district (East Singhbhum) affair. Officials announced the event in vernacular dailies instead of sending circulars directly to schools.

East Singhbhum district sports official Sarwar Imam claimed some girls had come for the trials but couldn’t make the cut. He, however, admitted that they had announced the trials only in newspapers.

He defended the Jamshedpur-only show. “Besides Jamshedpur, no other city in Jharkhand has a boxing apparatus. Tell me, where else could we have found talented boxers for the national tie?” he asked.