The Telegraph
Tuesday , November 13 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Pritam shines in Andhra tie

Guwahati, Nov. 12: A six-wicket haul by local lad Pritam Das helped Assam A overcome Andhra Pradesh A by the narrowest margin of one run to clinch six points from their C.K. Nayudu Trophy under-25 plate group B match at SM Dev Stadium in Silchar today. Chasing a second innings target of 179 runs, the visitors resumed at overnight 120 for five in 65 overs and were bowled out for 177 in 104.1 overs at lunch today.

Assam A (184) took a first-innings lead of 65 runs, bowling out Andhra A for 119 in the first innings but the hosts were bundled out for a meagre total of 113 in the second innings. Needing two runs for their third straight victory in the tournament, Andhra tail-ender K. Harish, who was batting on 18 with G.C.S. Prasad (6 not out) at the other end, tried to loft left-arm spinner Sekharjyoti Barmanís ball but mistimed it to be caught by Sibsankar Roy at the covers.

Paceman Das, who hauled five for 42 in the first innings, accounted for six for 56 in the second innings, taking his match haul to 11 wickets.

Sekharjyoti Barman chipped in with two for 29.

Middle order batsman Mw. Prajith (45) was the topscorer for Andhra in the second innings while G. Chiranjeevi contributed 37 and Sreekanth Koripalli made 20. With the win, Assam have tallied eight points from three matches.

Assam will next play Chhattisgarh from November 17 to 20 in their last match of the league.

The ACA today replaced Arminder Singh Oberoi and Diptesh Saha with Anup Ghosh and Kangkan Das in the squad for the last match. The other members are Kunal Saikia (captain), Rahul Hazarika, Manashjyoti Gogoi, Sibsankar Roy, Samik Das, Chanakya Sarma, Pritam Das, Sunil Ranjan Gogoi, Rishav Das, Dayal Krishna Dutta, Bikram Chetri, Sekharjyoti Barman and Utpal Medhi.