The Telegraph
Thursday , November 1 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Rail meet takes off

Guwahati, Oct. 31: Nearly 375 cagers, including several internationals, will represent various Railway outfits in the 55th menís and 36th womenís All India Railway Basketball Championship to be hosted by NF Railway at its indoor stadium here from tomorrow.

Altogether 29 teams, including nine women, will participate in the meet to be hosted by NF Railway for the fifth time. Apart from the hosts, who are last yearís bronze medallists, the teams to watch out for will be Diesel Modernization Works of Patiala, Railway Coach Factory of Kapurthala, South East Central Railway of Bilaspur and Central Railway of Mumbai, said NF Railway Sports Association president Mukul Marwa.

Internationals like Gagandeep Singh, Arjun Singh, Sunil Kumar, Jasjot Singh, Prakash Mishra, Snehpal Singh, Kiran Paul Singh, Anju Lakra, Reshma G. and Geethu Anna Jose will slog it out .

Marwa said the players and nearly 40 tournament officials will be accommodated in various hostels and guesthouses of the railways in areas adjoining the tournament venue.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Manipur project gets clearance
  • Mob attacks cops after road mishap
  • Rail meet takes off
  • Official, trader chargesheeted
  • Cops pitched as saviours
  • Conflict plays for drama fests
  • KMSS hits out at 'weak' Assam Accord
  • RI for internal auditor
  • FCI beat Dotma in tie-break
  • Probe into ex-MLA's 'communal' remark
  • Parties demand Naga talks details
  • Malom, Sekmai triumph
  • Rebel poet on music show
  • Tripura stake in urea plant
  • 200 stage dharna for rehabilitation
  • Khuga project gets investment clearance
  • Migrants alter entry route
  • AIFF alert for Assam organisers