The Telegraph
Saturday , October 13 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Sawombung bag top titles

- Team wins kabaddi and kho kho championships in Imphal East meet

PYKKA sports

Imphal, Oct. 12: Sawombung Block reigned supreme, claiming the kabaddi and kho kho titles of the Imphal East District-Level Women Sports Competition of the PYKKA Scheme 2012-13 at Khuman Lampak sports complex today.

The kabaddi final saw Sawombung Block get the better of Keirao Bitra Block by 20-12 points.In the kho kho event, Sawombung defeated Keirao Bitra Block by 51-40 points for the championís title.

Sawombung Block has now qualified to represent Imphal East in the State-Level Womenís Sports.

However, Keirao Bitra Block had their moment, as three of the paddlers, E. Echal Devi, S. Inglembi and H. Archana, along with Sawombung Block paddler Neha Devi, were selected for the State-Level Womenís Sports meet in the table tennis event.

In the hockey event, Keirao Bitra beat Sawombung Block by 2-0 goals.

In badminton, Priyanka Bora, Y. Dhanabati Devi, Puja Kamei and Y. Thailand have been selected to represent Imphal East.

Twenty athletes have also been selected for the state-level competition.

Referees selected: The AIFF has named five referees as match officials for the I-League 2012.

L. Ajit Meitei, I. Rabichandra, S. Kenedy and M. Magho will officiate at the match in Goa on October 27 and 28.

Ringkahao Vasum, L. Ajit Meetei and M. Magho will officiate in Calcutta on November 3 and 4.

Softball: The Manipur Softball Association will host the 25th Junior National Softball Championship (boys and girls) at Khuman Lampak sports complex, Imphal, from November 20-25. Around 700 players from 23 states are expected to participate in the championship.

Under-25 team

The Assam Cricket Association today named the state under-25 squad for the C.K. Nayudu Trophy plate group A match to be played against Hyderabad in Hyderabad from October 19 to 22. The squad, led by wicketkeeper-batsman Kunal Saikia as skipper, comprises Jyotiraditya Chetia, Diptesh Saha, Manashjyoti Gogoi, Rituparna Phatowali, Bikram Chetry, Sekharjyoti Barman, Sibshankar Roy, Manoj Malo, Arminder Singh Oberoi, Roshan Basfore, Jogeswar Bhumij, Pritam Das, Samik Das, Akhil Goel, Pabitra Dutta (coach), Prakash Deka (manager) and Jaspal Singh (physio).

 More stories in Northeast

  • Morning Star triumph
  • Czech interest in agro project
  • Assam moots rhino balm
  • DHD-N claims firing by rival
  • Panel issues permit threat
  • Sawombung bag top titles
  • Assam Police march ahead
  • Nagaland fumes over bad roads
  • Rio lauds NGO efforts
  • Green Valley enter final
  • GNLA cadre killed
  • Gandhians on peace tour
  • Sibal push for affordable research
  • Assam Rifles