The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

20 make the cut to table tennis squad

The East Singhbhum District Table Tennis Association (ESDTTA) on Wednesday announced a 20-member men and women’s squad for the state championship to be held in Ranchi. The tournament schedule will be announced shortly.

The paddlers will compete in cadet, sub-junior, junior and senior categories.

Announcing the squad, ESDTTA secretary U.K. Chatterjee said the outfit was picked on the basis of performance of paddlers during the district championship, which concluded at the JRD Tata Sports Complex on Tuesday evening.

“The squad has been picked on merit. We hope the selected paddlers will come good in the state championship,” he said, adding that a record 120 players took part in the district meet.

The East Singhbhum men’s squad includes Hardik Narang, Abhijeet Mahto, Abhishek Sarkar, P. Aditya Kumar, Vaibhav Sharma, Vinayak Sharma, Subhash Namata, Utkarsh Gupta, Pravesh Narang, Subham Behra and O.P. Mishra while Harshika Rai, Awantika Rai, Shruti Mahanand, Chandni Kumari, Simran Kumari, Sadia Sheikh, Minali Gupta, Rishika Gupta and Shreya Kirti comprise the women’s outfit.

Om Prakash Mishra won the men’s singles title in the district meet by putting it across Subham, a Class XI student of Atomic Energy Central School (Narwapahar), 3-1 (11-4, 7-11, 11-9 and 11-8).

Shruti of ADL School won the title in the women's singles by handing out a 3-2 (7-11, 11-4, 11-7, 8-11 and 11-7) defeat to Shreya, a Grade X student Jusco (South park) School. Both the paddlers are trainees of Tata Steel training centre.

The district tournament was a success with around 120 participants from Jusco School, Central Public School, Atomic Energy Central Schools (Jaduguda, Narwapahar and Turamdih), Baridih, Telco, National Metallurgical Laboratory competing in different age sections.

 More stories in Jharkhand

  • Add real butter chicken to capital's dining out menu
  • State banks on IIM to tap resources
  • VAT squeeze dries up liquor stocks
  • CM to launch power plant
  • Fresh fiat for pandal parking
  • Scholarship through bank accounts
  • 20 make the cut to table tennis squad
  • Fire chink in Puja safety armour
  • Roadshow for tech cradles
  • Where junk is turned to learning tools
  • Free legal aid for Rinpas inmates
  • Music and masti to set mood for Durga Puja
  • Mob roughs up cattle smugglers
  • B-school set to hire rural tech force
  • Parties rally for tribals
  • 500 happy girls make NCC proud
  • Pedal push for fish sale