The Telegraph
Sunday , September 16 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Bagan’s big win

Sabeeth scored a brace

Calcutta: Scoring half-a-dozen goals in a football match, at any level, is certainly not a dime a dozen. That then should be reason enough for Mohun Bagan to celebrate their 6-0 victory over West Bengal Police SC, in a CFL Premier Division match, at the Salt Lake Stadium, on Saturday.

With the Federation Cup just around the corner, Bagan coach Santosh Kashyap can say, “This is the ideal result that I wanted before going into such an important tournament.” And he actually said so.

But a practical look at Saturday’s game would say that WB Police, as opponents to Bagan, were like a hand of bananas to a sharp knife… No wonder the green and maroon brigade didn’t face any difficulty in cutting through their defence. And that is certainly not ideal preparation before facing the likes of Churchill Brothers. Such a hapless lot were the policemen that had six been sixteen, it wouldn’t have surprised even a grass on the pitch.

The first goal came in the 6th minute and the sixth was fired in 78th minute. In between it was all Bagan as goals came in 7th, 52nd, 68th and 75th minutes. While Odafa Okolie and CS Sabeeth scored a brace each, Nirmal Chetri and Tolgay Ozebe, too, managed to get their names on the scoresheet. Not every big name, like Syed Rahim Nabi, was on the roster, but the Bagan players still reduced the game to a child’s play.

Harder tests await Kashyap’s wards, but one player looked good to pass any scrutiny. Jewel Raja was a livewire in the midfield. His accurate passes, penetrative throughs and often striker-like opportunism will boost Bagan. Odafa and Tolgay looked good, but not very good. The rest, too, fall in the same bracket.


Mohun Bagan: Arindam Bhattacharya, Lalrozama Fanai, Anyiche Echezona, Warundeep Singh (Khelemba Meetei, 59), Nirmal Chetri, Manish Bhargav (Rakesh Masih, 75), Denson Devadas, Jewel Raja, Snehasis Chakraborty (Tolgay Ozebe, 56), Okolie Odafa, CS Sabeeth

WB Police: Soumava Ghosh (Debabrata Debnath, 52), Sajal Seal, Dipankar Das, Swarup Dey, Kishor Mallick, Manoj Das, Bidesh Mondal (Koushik Dutta, 69), Kaliram Hembram, Kapil Ghosh, Mehtab Ali Sapui, Subhas Ghosh (Kaushik Dutta, 46)

Referee: Pranjal Banerjee