The Telegraph
Sunday , September 16 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

DPS shines at zonal meet

Jamshedpur, Sept. 15: Dayanand Public School (DPS) claimed the team championship in both the senior and junior boys’ categories on the concluding day of 16th ASISC Zonal Athletics Meet 2012 at JRD Tata Sports Complex today.

DBMS English School walked home with the title in the senior girls’ section while Sacred Heart Convent emerged champions in junior eves’ category.

B.N. Sarangi, group president (HR) of Adhunik Group of Industries handed over the trophies.

The day started with the 5km walk for senior boys with Vivek Kumar Singh of Motilal Nehru Public School (MNPS) slotting home the yellow metal. Vivek, who clocked 31:30.1 seconds, edged out DPS’s Amit Mukherjee (31:35.5 secs) and Trishan Singh (34:26.0 secs) of Carmel Junior College.

In the 5km walk for junior boys, ADLS Sunshine’s Sourav Kummar topped with a timing of 30:13.3 secs while Kerala Samajam Model School’s (KSMS) Manoranjan Singh (31:07.2 secs) finished second and DAV Public School (Patelnagar) third by breaking the tape in 31:23.6 secs.

DPS bagged the senior boys 800m gold through the efforts of Anuj Kumar who clocked 2:15.4 secs, in the process tripping Vig English School’s Suresh Murmu (2:18.3) and Carmel’s Jai Raj (2:21.6).

S. Darshana of DBMS English School showed her prowess in senior girls’ 800m by walking home with the top slot in 3:11.8 secs.

Arzoo Perween (3:28.6) of Church School Beldih and Lopa Mudra Chandra (3:45.5) of MNPS finished second and third, respectively.

The junior boys’ 800 m event saw Md Taj of ADLS Sunshine bagging the gold with a timing of 2:14.3 secs while Church School Beldih’s Priya Sinha excelling in the eve’s section, clocking 2:56.5 secs.

Rashmi Ranjan Singh (DPS) and Nishi Jaiswal picked the 200m gold in the senior boys and girls categories, respectively.

Laben Purty of DPS won the junior boys’ 200m title by breasting the tape in 24:57 secs whereas Supriti Sarkhel (Kerala Samajam Public School, Kadma) topped in the girls’ category with a timing of 31.50 secs.