The Telegraph
Saturday , September 1 , 2012
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

CEM Cup deferred

Nagaon, Aug. 31: The Dima Hasao Sports Associationís failure to prepare the ground in time has compelled the organisers to postpone the 8th Chief Executive Member Cup football tournament from September 1 to September 3.

A DHSA source today said along with the playground issue, the association is faced with other problems, which forced it to reschedule the start of the flagship tournament to September 3.

DHSA general secretary T.T. Daulogupu today said in Haflong that Bloodmouth (Hailakandi), Morning Star (Diphu), DCC Lumding, FC Bethlehem (Mizoram), Dimapur XI (Nagaland), Borok FC (Tripura) and Youth Organisation Sporting Club (Manipur) are the seven teams participating in the tournament from outside Dima Hasao district.

Fianpuii Youth Club, 119 Territorial Army, Kholkuol Club, United Council Youth Club, Digrik Youth Club, Bansodao Memorial Football Club Umrangshu, Niver Club, Pangmol Youth Club, Sengya Tularam Club, Kukistan Youth Club, Denizen Football Club Umrangshu, Warrior of Waimijing, Guidai Club, HBAC, 25 Assam Rifles and Evergreen Club are the 16 local teams which have ensured their participation this year. The inaugural match would be between Flangpui Youth club and Kholkuon Club. Dima Hasao District Autonomous Council chief executive member Debojeet Thaosen will participate in the inaugural programme as special guest.

ďLast year, Guidai Club had a scheduled match with Haflong Police which was cancelled. This time, Guidai would play in the first round on September 11,Ē said a DHSA source. The DHSA announced Rs 1 lakh prize money to the champions and Rs 50,000 to the runners-up.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Inmates afraid to go home
  • Manhunt to arrest official
  • Rakibul sues BJP leader
  • Kuki Sporting pip Tiddim 2-1
  • Dispur mulls law to ban bandhs
  • Cash rewards for Shiva, Jayanta
  • Chinese threat potent within: Expert
  • ACTA rejects move to monitor teachers
  • Rakibul sues BJP leader over jab
  • CEM Cup deferred
  • Relief, not rehabilitation, say riot-hit in BTAD
  • Cyber racket busted, 10 held
  • Policy palsy blamed for farm woes
  • Call for better services in camps
  • Youth team to continue drive
  • Lajong plays Phoenix today
  • ADB aid to Assam power sector
  • Tiger cub gets a home in Raipur zoo
  • Teams named
  • Mary, Mary, quite contrary
  • Burn victim delivers stillborn