The Telegraph
Thursday , July 21 , 2011
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary
Email This Page

Jyoti tied fourth in Malaysia

Shah Alam: Jyoti Randhawa fired a five-under 67 to lie tied fourth at the end of the first round of the Worldwide Holdings Selangor Masters here on Wednesday.

Rookie Joonas Granberg of Finland, a 24-year-old Qualifying School graduate, provided the fireworks with a new course record of 10-under-par 62 in the first round.

Ashok Kumar six birdies and two bogeys in 68 in tied seventh, while Gaurav Ghei opening with an eagle in the first, Rashid Khan closing with a double bogey on 18th and Anirban Lahiri carded 69 each to be tied 15th.

Edvald wins

Pinerolo: Edvald Boasson-Hagen, one of only two Norwegian riders at the start, snatched a fourth Tour de France stage victory for his country when he won the 179-km 17th stage from Gap on Wednesday.        

Varsha double

Chennai: Varsha Sanjeev clinched a double when she clinched the snooker title to add to the billiards crown she had won earlier, while Gujarat youngster Dhuvaj Haria won the boys billiards event in the National Sub-Junior Championship, here on Wednesday.

Winning start

New Delhi: In what turned out to be a good day for Indian paddlers, the under-18 boys blanked Thailand 3-0 while the under-15 team got the better of fancied Japan 3-1 in the group stages of the Asian Junior Table Tennis Championships, here Wednesday.

Yao retires

Shanghai: Basketball star Yao Ming announced his retirement, on Wednesday, after a trailblazing career that made him China’s best-known athlete abroad and helped spur the game’s global growth.

Dipika out

New Delhi: Dipika Pallikal’s campaign in the Malaysian Open squash ended in the first round itself as she lost to higher-ranked Kasey Brown of Australia in Kuala Lumpur on Wednesday.

Obuya to lead

Nairobi: All-rounder Collins Obuya was named as Kenya’s new national cricket captain to replace Jimmy Kamande who was sacked after the disastrous 2011 World Cup campaign, Cricket Kenya said.

SL squad

Colombo: Sri Lanka, on Wednesday, announced their one-day and T20 squad for Australia’s tour of the island next month, but didn’t name a skipper.
Tillekaratne Dilshan, who was named captain for the just concluded tour of England, was included in the 20-man squad scheduled to play five ODIs and two Twenty20 games against Australia.

The squad: Tillekaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Angelo Mathews, Chamara Kapugedera, Jeevan Mendis, Chamara Silva, Dinesh Chandimal, Dimuth Karunaratne, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Dhammika Prasad, Nuwan Kulasekera, Isuru Udana, Suraj Randiv, Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath, Malinga Bandara, Sachithra Senanayake


Email This Page