The Telegraph
Monday , March 8 , 2010
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary
Email This Page
Jharkhand triumph

East zone cricket

Guwahati, March 7: Jharkhand will meet West Bengal in the final of the 2nd East Zone cricket tournament for the deaf at the Latasil ground here tomorrow.

In the last league matches today, Jharkhand and Bengal posted emphatic wins in their respective matches against Assam and Orissa respectively.

In the first match, Assam, put to bat first, were bundled out for 75 in 19.3 overs and Jharkhand achieved the target losing three wickets in 14.3 overs.

Dwipen Baishya (13) and D. Kalita (11) were the only Assam batsmen to score in double figures. Jitendra Kumar of Jharkhand notched up four for 16 and Abhimanyu N. Deo claimed three for 27. Niranjan Guria also scalped two for 13.

Manish Kumar (20), Pinku Bhokta (17) and Deo (16) were the notable Jharkhand batsmen. Jitendra Kumar was adjudged Man of the Match.

In the afternoon match, Orissa elected to bat first and were skittled out for 62 in 14.2 overs.

In reply, Bengal achieved the target by hammering 67 runs in 9.3 overs with seven wickets in hand.

Subhankar Mullick of West Bengal hauled five wickets for 15 runs and Sanjay Acharya claimed two for 19. Suvrajit Sur topscored for West Bengal with an unbeaten 45 while Sashi Bhusan of Orissa claimed two wickets for 16 runs.

Mullick was named Man of the Match.

On Saturday, Orissa and West Bengal posted wins in their respective league matches against host Assam and Jharkhand respectively.

At Latasil ground, Orissa elected to bat and were all out for 164 in 23.5 overs. Assam were bundled out for 90 in 21.5 overs.

Umakanta Swain (40) was the topscorer for Orissa. Manash P. Pohuchungi and Dwipen Baishya of Assam picked up three wickets each.

For Assam, Manash P. Pohuchungi scored 36 and Niranjan Das chipped in with 14, Shyam K. Harichandran of Orissa hauled five for five and Pabitra Kr Parida claimed two for 16.

At the Gauhati University ground, Jharkhand won the toss and put West Bengal to bat first. The Bengal batsmen piled up 176 losing all their wickets in 32.3 overs and Jharkhand were bundled out for 92 in 21.4 overs.

Wushu squad

The Wushu Association of Assam has named the state squad for the 9th sub-junior nationals to be held at Central Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram from March 18 to 23, says our Guwahati staff reporter.

The squad: Dhritiraj Sarma Bordoloi, Jai Kishan Rajbongshi, Anil Sobor, Debojit Baruah, Promod Sarma, Manash Jyoti Das, Jitu Kochari, Sristi Biswakarma, Puja Devi, K. Elizabeth Rabha, Jingtai Wangsu, Bijoy Rabha, Bhargav Dutta, Anjoy Basumatary and Gloria Lama.

Email This Page