The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary
Email This Page

East Bengal thrash Sporting Union

Nilkantha Das and Manu Kumar grabbed five and four wickets, respectively, as Sporting Union were dismissed for 38 against East Bengal in an AN Ghosh Trophy match on Friday. East Bengal, who made 340, won by 302 runs.

Brief scores: East Bengal 340/8. Sporting Union 38 in 12.4 (N. Das 5/22; M. Kumar 4/16). East Bengal won by 302 runs.

CAB ground

The CAB will sign a MoU with Kalyani University on Saturday to set up a ground at Kalyani. This will be the association’s third ground after Eden Gardens and Jadavpur University’s Salt Lake campus ground.

Telegraph Cup

Eastern Financiers beat M Junction 5-0 in The Telegraph Cup for Corporates five-a-side soccer meet at the CCFC Friday.

RESULTS: Reliance Comm. 1 TCS 0; Eastern Financiers 5 M Junction 0; Panchwati Holiday Resorts 5 The Telegraph B 0; Selvel A 3 Wipro 0; Bharti Airtel 1 The Park 1; Tata Steel 1 Seaways Shipping 1; Madhya Bharat Paper 5 Mission of Mercy Ind. 0; Jayshree Tea 3 The Telegraph A 0; Magma Financing 3 DPSC Limited 1; Blue Star 5 Selvel B 0.


A 32-member Bengal team will participate in the sub-junior National Aquatics in Panjim from May 26. Sayantani Bose and Supriya Mondal will lead the girls and boys swimming teams. The diving teams will be led by Priyanka Banerjee and Billol Adhikary.

Table tennis

Ritika Kundu will meet Srijoni Dey in the nursery girls’ final of the Freedy Manook table tennis championship organised by the Harish Park Bayam Samity on Friday.

RESULTS (all semis):

Nursery girls: Ritika Kundu bt Rachana Pramanik 11-7, 11-5; Srijoni Dey bt Ishita Chowhan 11-6, 11-4. Cadet girls: Pallabi Guha bt Rachana Pramanik 6-11, 11-9, 14-12, 11-8; Ritika Kundu bt Srijoni Dey 11-8, 11-4, 11-4.

U-7 chess

Seven players were in the lead with three points each in the Under-7 State Age-group Chess Championship on Friday. Neelash Saha, Shubhangam Choudhary, Siddhartha Chakraborty, Sraman Bhowmick, Srijit Paul, Punyatoa Sahafouzder and Samriddhaa Ghosh had three points each.

4-way lead

Aditya Chakraborty, Rahul Deb Das, Suvam Nath and Arpan Das were in joint lead with three points each after the third round in the under-13 category of the State Age-group Chess Championships at the Khudiram Anushilan Kendra on Friday.


Fifteen boys and 12 girls' teams will take part in the Junior State Basketball Championships, starting from Monday at the Burrabazar Yuvak Sabha courts. The six-day meet will be played on a league-cum-knockout basis.


SOCCER: The Telegraph Cup for Corporates at CCFC

TABLE TENNIS: Freedy Manook meet at Harish Park Bayam Samity

Email This Page