The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary
Email This Page
Lakhipur team lifts trophy

Jugasankha Cup

Hailakandi, April 10: KYC Khuman of Lakhipur emerged champion in the 3rd Jugasankha Cup Rural Football Championship, edging out two-time winner Baliya Green Club 6-4, in the tie-breaker at Silchar Sporting Club ground on Tuesday.

The tournament was organised by Silchar Football Academy.

Till regulation time, the teams were locked 1-1.

The Khuman team took the lead in the 59th minute through a Kajaigak Rongmei goal.

Getting a short pass from Ringson Hmar, Kajaigak beautifully netted the ball.

San Chuang Ring Halam equalised the score in the 62nd minute off a pass from Haidir Buma Halam.

Hmar and Rongmei missed some golden opportunities in the early part of the first half.

In the tiebreaker, Hmar, Rongmei, Mandila Rongmei, Bijoy Rongmei and Lalramlel scored for the Khuman team. Buma Halam, Jarlal Hmar and San Chuang Ring Halam scored for Baliya.

Rongmei got the Man of the Final Match trophy.

The Best Goalkeeper award was given to Neiring Liang of Baliya and teammate Nangthoiba was adjudged the best defender.

The Best Midfielder and Best Forward awards were given to Parhuman and Bijoy Rongmei of the winning team.

All the individual award winners pocketed Rs 500 as cash prize, besides the Jugasankha trophy.

The two teams received Rs 5,000 and Rs 3,000 as cash prizes.

The prizes were distributed by former players Bijon Gopal Das, Nilotpal Choudhury, Bijan Paul Choudhury, Manik Paul, Biswajit Dutta, Ashis Gupta and Atin Das.

Email This Page