The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
India have slim presence
- Nominations for 2007 ICC awards

Calcutta: The Sunil Gavaskar-headed five-man selection committee has nominated only five Indian cricketers for the 2007 ICC Awards.

The five, of course, includes Rumeli Dhar and Jhulan Goswami, who are in the reckoning for the Womenís Cricketer of the Year award.

Left-arm pacer Zaheer Khan, veteran leg-spinner Anil Kumble and left-handed batsman Yuvraj Singh are the three to have been nominated for the individual awards in the menís category, according to information received here on Tuesday.

Zaheer and Kumble have been nominated for the Test player of the Year award along with 19 others, while Yuvraj finds a berth in the 19-strong list of nominees for the ODI Player of the Year award.

No other Indian finds a place in the other three eligible categories ó Emerging Player, Cricketer of the Year and Captain of the Year.

In fact, compared to Australia, who have a massive presence with 21 nominations in the menís category alone, India cut a sorry figure.

Among men, the world champions top the list, followed by Sri Lanka (9), South Africa and England (7 each), Pakistan and the West Indies (4 each), New Zealand (3) and Bangladesh (2).

ďThe first list would be pruned down by September 4 before the winners are announced at the awards function in Johannesburg on September 10, the eve of the ICC World Twenty20,Ē ICC CEO Malcolm Speed said on Tuesday.

Australia captain Ricky Ponting and his Sri Lanka counterpart Mahela Jayawardene lead the nominations, figuring in as many as four individual categories.

The 32-year-old Ponting is in the race to retain both the Cricketer of the Year and Test Player of the Year awards as per the preliminary list released by Speed in Mumbai on Tuesday.

The Gavaskar-chaired selection panel has Chris Cairns, Gary Kirsten, Iqbal Qasim and Alec Stewart.

The ICC Awards are made up of eight individual awards and three team awards. The individual awards are: Captain of the Year, Cricketer of the Year (The Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy), Emerging Player of the Year, ODI Player of the Year, Test Player of the Year, Umpire of the Year, Womenís Cricketer of the Year, Associate ODI Player of the Year.

Eight other players ó West Indies batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Australian trio Matthew Hayden, Michael Hussey and Glenn McGrath, Muttiah Muralidharan of Sri Lanka, Englandís Kevin Pietersen, Shaun Pollock of South Africa and Pakistanís Mohammed Yousuf ó have each been put forward for three individual honours.

Captain of the Year Jayawardene has a chance of winning that award again this time.

The Emerging Player of the Year nominees include Australia fast-bowler Shaun Tait and Mitchell Johnson, Bangladesh duo Shakib-al Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim, New Zealand batsman Ross Taylor and the England pair of Chris Tremlett and Ravinder Bopara.

Speed said there was still a chance for those who have not found a berth in the different lists as the ICC has introduced a wild card option for the 56-strong panel who will cast their votes to decide the award winners.

The votersí panel is made up of 10 full ICC Test member captains, 10 Elite Panel umpires, eight Match Referees, 28 former greats of the game and members of the media.

Email This Page