The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Mukherjee panel finalised

Calcutta: The Jagmohan Dalmiya factor continues to loom large over the run-up to the CAB annual general meeting. Friday is the last day of filing nominations and the high court is also likely to announce judgement on the Dalmiya case on the same day.

The AGM is on July 28.

While Prasun Mukherjee loyalists finalised their panel on Thursday, the Dalmiya supporters kept their fingers crossed knowing well that a verdict in his favour could have a huge impact on the elections.

It is still unclear if Dalmiya will contest for the president’s post.

A close aide, who was present during a series of meetings that continued till late into the night, however, said there was a strong possibility that Dalmiya could file his nomination at the last minute.

The chances of Bhupendranath Dey challenging Mukherjee also cannot be ruled out.

The Dalmiya lobby will also announce the names for the vice-president’s posts Friday. Indranath Dey and Subhasish Sarkar will contest on behalf of Mukherjee’s panel along with Russi Jeejeebhoy and Nemai Charan Dutta. Jeejeebhoy also enjoys Dalmiya’s backing.

The Mukherjee panel will enjoy the support of few former Dalmiya aides. “We will go with Mukherjee’s panel. We did give him some names of who we wish to see in the panel and who we dislike. He has accommodated our requests as far as possible,” said former BCCI joint secretary Goutam Das Gupta.

Former Bengal captain Devang Gandhi, meanwhile, may represent Calcutta Cricket and Football Club at the CAB from next season.


Prasun Mukherjee-backed — Vice-presidents: Russi Jeejeebhoy, Nemai Charan Dutta, Indranath Dey, Subhasish Sarkar. Joint secretaries: Samar Paul, Amitava Banerjee. Treasurer: Tushar Sarkar.

Jagmohan Dalmiya-backed — Joint secretaries: Saradindu Pal, Biswarup Dey. Treasurer: Shiv Kumar Kalyani.

Dravid in Elite Club

Rahul Dravid became the sixth player to reach the 150 Test catches club. Following is the list:

181 catches — Mark Waugh (in 128 matches)

164 catches — Brian Lara (in 131 matches)

159 catches — Stephen Fleming (in 104 matches)

157 catches — Mark Taylor (in 104 matches)

156 catches — Allan Border (in 156 matches)

150 catches — Rahul Dravid (in 110* matches)

* Dravid reached the milestone on Day I of the Lord’s Test

Email This Page