The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Jubilation over Taj's inclusion in seven wonder's list

Agra/New Delhi, July 8 (PTI): The Great Wall of China, Petra in Jordan and Brazil's statue of Christ the Redeemer are among the modern day seven wonders of the world chosen in a poll of 100 million online voters.

The other four are Peru's Machu Picchu, Mexico's Mayan ruins at Chichen Itza, the Colosseum in Rome and the Taj Mahal in India.

The seven winners were announced at a glitzy show at the Benfica stadium in Lisbon after what is likely to be the biggest online poll at

The city of Taj led the celebrations on the monument of love being named as one of the new seven wonders with the custodian of heritage, the Archaeological Survey of India terming it as a vindication of the marble marvel's standing in the world.

Groups and enthusiastic youngsters distributed sweets and set off fireworks in Agra on its inclusion in a global poll as the announcement was made in wee hours of the day in Portuguese capital Lisbon. Visitors to the monument were garlanded today by representatives of the city hotels association. “We did not officially participate in the campaign, but we are happy that Taj has made it among the seven wonders in the worldwide poll,” C. Babu Rajeev, consultant with the ASI and formerly director-general, said.

“In any kind of list of global architectural wonder, Taj must be there, it is a rightful thing. It is the vindication of Taj Mahal's standing,” Rajeev told PTI. Terming the selection as a “positive development”, he said it will help in tourism promotion and draw more attention to the 17th century monument of love. It will also increase the responsibility of the ASI, he said. Asked if the increased attention will mean more pressure of the ASI, he said the body will have to devise efficient conservation policies and improved the management system as well as the facilities for tourists.           

Union minister and Lok Janshakti party president Ramvilas Paswan congratulated countrymen on the inclusion of the Taj Mahal among the new seven wonders of the world.


The Taj Mahal, India The Taj Mahal, India
Chichén Itzá, Mexico Chichén Itzá, Mexico
Christ Redeemer, Brazil Christ Redeemer, Brazil
The Great Wall, China The Great Wall, China
Machu Picchu, Peru Machu Picchu, Peru
Petra, Jordan Petra, Jordan
The Roman Colloseum, Italy The Roman Colloseum, Italy


The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World (from left to right, top to bottom): Great Pyramid of Giza, Hanging Gardens of Babylon, Temple of Artemis, Statue of Zeus at Olympia, Mausoleum of Maussollos, Colossus of Rhodes and the Lighthouse of Alexandria as depicted by 16th-century Dutch artist Marten Heemskerk
Email This Page