The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Hattrick by Koushik

Koushik Bhattacharjee took a hattrick in his match haul of for four 30 to help Town Club register an 80-run win over Ananda Bazar Patrika Sports Club in a CAB First Division match here Tuesday.


B.N.R. Recreation Club 199/9 (S. Chatterjee 53, Gitimoy Basu 40). Paikpara Sports Club 152/7 (Manish Mitra 79). B.N.R. Recreation Club won by 47 runs.

Tapan Memorial Club 306/9 (Supravat Biswas 102, Pritam Sinha Roy 53; Sanjay Sharma 5/68). High Court Club 295 (Arun Chatterjee 123 not out, Humza Firozie 64; Rajib Dutta 4/63). Tapan Memorial won by 11 runs.

Town Club 281/8 (Jasbinder Singh 150, Sanjay Sarkar 3/54). Anand Bazar Patrika Sports Club 201 (Argha Das 57, Soumya Ghosh 45; Koushik Bhattacharjee 4/30). Town Club won by 80 runs

Rajasthan Club 300/8 (Satendra Yadav 85, Davender Panwar 50). Banpur CC 220/8 (Subhodip Das 58; Satyendra Yadav 4/46). Rajasthan Club won by 80 runs.

Shibpur Institute 213 (Arnab Chowdhury 52, Mahesh Tewari 43; Kajal Das 3/36, Samir Modi 3/45). Aryan Club 214 for no loss (Abhishek Saha 141 not out, Pulak Das 50). Aryan Club won by 10 wickets.

Mohammedan Sporting 182 (Debojyoti Chatterjee 3/33, Hirah Sengupta 3/50). Kumartuli Institute 183/8 (Hirah Sengupta 47, Ajoy Garai 30, Somnath Mandal 39 not out). Kumartuli Institute won by two wickets.

Young Bengal Sporting Association 125. Dalhousie A.C. 129 for no loss (Somdeb Saha 62 not out, Abhishek Chakraborty 52 not out). Dalhousie A.C. won by 10 wickets.

Jr cricket

Avi Naskar wrecked Bulan C.A., claiming three for three to enable P. Sen (M) C.C.C. Kalighat Club emerged winners in the Priyak (M) Sub Junior Cricket Tournament at Shantinagar ground Tuesday.


P. Sen (M) C.C.C, Kalighat 113 (Rishav Das 30; B. Arun 3/13). Bulan C.A. 96 (Avi Naskar 3/3, Girdhar Yadav 2/16). P. Sen (M) C.C.C. won by 17 runs.

Chess meet

Arindam Mukherjee and Rajib Dhar were in joint lead with seven points apiece after Round Eight of the 3rd Howrah District Chess Association organised Dr. U.K. Rathiís Divine Foundationís International Rating Chess Tournament at the Swamiji Sporting Club Tuesday.


Arindam Mukherjee (7 points) bt Rajesh Diwan (5.5); Rajib Dhar (7) bt Dushyant Das (5.5); Rupankar Nath (5.5) lost to Ram S. Krishnan (6.5); Baisakhi Das (6) drew with Neladri Sekhar Bhattacharya (6); Debasish Mukherjee (5.5) drew with Santu Mondal (5.5)

FPAI tie

Football Players Association of India will organise a promotional programme in which Future Hope of the city will take on Pune-based will U.P.S.A (a sports academy for the under privileged kids) in two matches at the Mohun Bagan Athletic Club ground on December 28 and 29.


CHESS: Dr. U.K. Rathiís Divine Foundationís International Rating Chess Tournament at Swamiji Sporting Club from 10 am.

CRICKET: Ranji Super League Group B Round Four: Bengal vs Maharashtra at the Eden Garden from 9 am

EQUESTRIAN: NEC (Tent Pegging) and 55th Calcutta Horse Show at Race Course ground from 9 am.

FOOTBALL: Federation Cup semi-final: Dempo Sports Club vs Mohun Bagan at Salt Lake Stadium from 7 pm.

Email This Page