The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Bangla drawing strength from Mohali show

Jaipur: Bangladesh will need a spark of inspiration to thwart the West Indies’ hopes of a smooth passage into the main stage when the two teams clash in their second qualifying round match of the Champions Trophy on Wednesday.

The title holders are one win away from qualifying into the group stage after a crushing victory over Zimbabwe in the opening match of the biennial event, but Dav Whatmore’s team might not be a push-over.

Bangladesh might be languishing at the bottom of the ICC Championship table — only above Kenya — but they have beaten five of the nine one-day teams, including world champions Australia, ranked above them. And they have won five of their last nine matches.

Unlike Zimbabwe, who lasted just more than 30 overs while being bundled out for 85 in Ahmedabad, the Asian Test playing nation held their own against the Lankans.

Bangladesh coach Dav Whatmore said the cricket pundits might not be prepared to give his team the due but the players were quietly confident of standing up to the task.

“It all depends on which side of the glass you are looking at. We could have bowled a bit better and not been naughty with the extras. We definitely fielded well, but the focus has been on Sri Lanka,” he said.

“We made a reasonable fight of it in Mohali. We came from being down 78-4 to bat out the 50 overs. We want to go a step further, there is a game to be won tomorrow,” he added.

Although the West Indies go in as favourites and they would definitely not like to leave themselves in a do-or-die situation against Sri Lanka, in their final qualifying match, captain Brian Lara warned his team of the improving Bangladesh.

“Bangladesh is a competitive team,” Lara told reporters on Tuesday. “It is a very important game for us. “They have the ability to play good on a given day so we are not taking them lightly… They have beaten Australia and we don’t need to say anything more.”


West Indies (from): Brian Lara (captain), Ramnaresh Sarwan, Chris Gayle, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Runako Morton, Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith, Carlton Baugh, Corey Collymore, Fidel Edwards, Ian Bradshaw, Jerome Taylor, Marlon Samuels, Wavell Hinds.

Bangladesh (from): Habibul Bashar (captain), Shahriar Nafees, Khaled Mashud, Mohammed Rafique, Mohammed Ashraful, Mashrafe Mortaza, Rajin Saleh, Abdur Razzak, Aftab Ahmed, Syed Rasel, Shahadat Hossain, Farhad Reza, Saqibul Hasan, Mehrab Hossain.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZ), Simon Taufel (Aus). TV: Steve Bucknor (WI).

Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SL).

Match starts: 2.30 pm

Email This Page