The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
BCCI move on hold, not shelved

Calcutta: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has “put on hold” — not shelved — a move for professional selectors.

A special committee which met in New Delhi on March 26, with former president Inderjit Singh Bindra in the chair, had recommended that the senior national selectors must be on contract and should have fixed terms.

Also, that the quintet’s appointment must not be on zonal lines, as has been the practice all these years.

Among others, that meeting was attended by Team India captain Rahul Dravid and immediate predecessor Sourav Ganguly.

However, while the selectors’ term got pruned from a maximum of four to three years, when the BCCI’s constitution got amended earlier this year, the “method” of their appointment wasn’t changed.

“The issue (of professional selectors) was discussed at the appropriate level, but no decision taken… The top reason being finding people who don’t have other commitments… People are either employed, run a business or are office-bearers in state associations” Bindra told The Telegraph.

Speaking on Wednesday evening, he added: “The idea, though, hasn’t been shelved… It has only been put on hold… If I may add, the constitution won’t have to be amended if the selectors have to be paid… If it comes to that, a working committee meeting can take such a decision.”

Back in March, Bindra had said: “An agreement was reached on having the best (selectors). Having men of integrity and getting them appointed — possibly by the president — rather than selected (by the five zones) as is being done… Of course, we could still have one selector from each zone as India is huge.”

The next senior national selection committee, meanwhile, is going to have at least one new face as chairman Kiran More’s term is getting over. As of now, three are in contention to succeed him from West — Dilip Vengsarkar, Yajuvindra Singh and Dhiraj Parsana.

There will be another change if South sticks to its intra-zonal policy of rotation. In that case, Tamil Nadu’s V.B. Chandrasekhar is going to be replaced, most probably by Hyderabad’s nominee.

The remaining three selectors — Bhupinder Singh (North), Sanjay Jagdale (Central) and Ranjib Biswal (East) — are each about to complete one year.

After the constitution’s amendment, they may have a further two years (at one go, mind you) provided they themselves get selected at the AGM in Mumbai later this month.

Incidentally, not everyone in the region is happy with Biswal, but he heads the Orissa Cricket Association and, so, isn’t a lightweight.

Email This Page