The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Happy, but there is a sad tinge to it: Dalmiya
Jagmohan Dalmiya after winning the CAB elections at the Eden on Sunday. A Telegraph picture

Calcutta: Jagmohan Dalmiya was restrained in his hour of glory. He wanted to avoid any of the bitterness that had marked the past couple of months leading to the Cricket Association of Bengal’s (CAB’s) AGM.

“I am happy, but there is a sad tinge to it. I’ve always said I didn’t enjoy fighting this election. The chief minister had wanted me not to contest, but the members insisted that I fight. So I decided to contest,” the CAB president said.

Chief minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee had publicly asked Dalmiya to withdraw from the fray. Dalmiya’s refusal and the subsequent failure of a truce effort set off a chain of dramatic events culminating in Sourav’s explosive e-mail.

“This is not just a win or loss' It can no longer be a question of who is winning or losing the elections,” Dalmiya clarified, with Prasun Mukherjee standing next to him.

Dalmiya has always said Mukherjee was a “perfect gentleman”, and added that the police commissioner’s deeds proved so.

“Both of us had vowed not to speak against each other before the election and I am glad it happened exactly that way.”

Mukherjee was gracious in defeat. “This was a very close contest. I enjoyed every minute of it. This was a friendly fight. It is obvious that the majority wanted Dalmiya to continue. So he will stay as president.”

Mukherjee also had a congratulatory message for the observer, Justice (retd) Santosh Kumar Phoujdar. “I am grateful to the observer for the way he conducted the elections.”

Mukherjee did not come up with any excuse. “Nobody can complain about anything' I would have enjoyed winning, but overall it has been a good experience,” he remarked.

Joint secretaries Saradindu Pal and Amitava Banerjee felt there was no surprise element involved in their victories.

“I was always confident I was going to win,” said Pal.



Jagmohan Dalmiya 61 (Prasun Mukherjee 56)


Ashit Chatterjee 68, Suhas Chandra Basu 70, Nemai Charan Dutta 81, Russi Jeejeebhoy 68 (Subhasish Sarkar 46, Indranath Dey 50, Utpal Ganguly 44)


Saradindu Pal 71, Amitava Banerjee 60 (Samar Paul 58, Raja Venkat 39)


Shiv Kumar Kalyani 66 (Tushar Sarkar 50). One vote was cancelled

Email This Page