The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Pakistan A champions
- Eurasia Series
- Hasan Razaís 106 n.o. seals India A fate

Abu Dhabi: India A stumbled at the post as Pakistan A crushed them for a 36-run victory in the final and won the Eurasia Series six-nation Limited Overs Cricket Tournament on Friday.

Pakistan, who had lost to their arch-rivals in a league match earlier in the tournament, seemed to have saved their best for last as they outplayed the Indians in all departments of the game to score a memorable win in the day-night encounter at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium.

Inspired by a captainís knock of 106 not out by Hasan Raza, Pakistan posted a challenging 288 for four before dismissing the Indians for 252 with 13 balls to spare.

India, chasing the daunting target, overcame the cheap loss of its openers through a century stand between skipper Yalaka Venugopal Rao (69) and Reetinder Singh Sodhi (70) for the third wicket.

But the dismissals of these two batsmen in the space of four balls, in the 40th over, saw the wheels come apart, with the last eight wickets falling for 63 runs.

Razaís sixth List A hundred, from 112 balls with eight fours and a six, laid the foundation for Pakistanís win.

The right-hander reached his century with a stunning six over mid-wicket off Vikram Rajvir Singh in the last over of the innings.

That final over saw Pakistan plunder 19 runs including two sixes from Raza and the other not out batsman Bazid Khan.

Raza found valuable support in Misbah-ul Haq who made a vital 73 from 94 balls with four fours and a six.

India lost Robin Uthappa (23) and Shikhar Dhawan (17) in quick succession after a solid start of 41 runs inside the 10th over.

The stand between Rao and Sodhi kept the Indian hopes alive but the required run-rate was always climbing up.

Leg-spinner Mansoor Amjad was expensive in terms of runs but his four wickets broke the back of the Indian batting.

Email This Page