The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Karnataka ride Rowland knock

Bangalore: Riding on Barrington Rowland’s 81, Karnataka scored 231 for the loss of six wickets against Delhi on the first day of their Ranji Trophy Elite Group A match at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium here on Tuesday.

Delhi skipper Virender Sehwag claimed two wickets for 39 runs besides grabbing two catches to shine for the visitors. B. Akhil (48) and Sunil Joshi (0) were at crease when stumps were drawn.

The highlight of the hosts’ innings was the 97-run sixth wicket partnership between Rowland, who hit eight fours in his 224-ball knock, and Akhil, after the home team were 134 for five in the 64th over.

Earlier, Karnataka skipper Sujith Somasundar won the toss and opted to bat.

In Agartala, host Tripura bowled out Himachal Pradesh for a paltry 80 in their first innings in the four-day Plate Group B match played at the Maharaja Bir Bikram Stadium here.

At stumps on Day II, the hosts were 137 for eight, with a lead of 220 runs.

Tripura’s T. Chanda took four scalps for 34 runs.

In Ahmedabad, wicketkeeper Parthiv Patel top-scored for Gujarat on the first day of their Ranji Trophy match against Mumbai which saw the hosts struggle to reach 190 for nine on a green top at the Sardar Patel Stadium in Motera on Tuesday.

Opting to bat, Gujarat asked Parthiv to open alongside Nilesh Modi against Mumbai’s three-pronged pace attack. A brilliant 53-run third wicket partnership between Parthiv and Niraj Patel helped Gujarat to escape trouble.

Parthiv, who looked set to get a big score, scripted another 38-run partnership with captain Mukund Parmar before falling on 47 to the guile of Mumbai spinner Ramesh Powar.

In Visakhapatnam, an unbeaten half century by Dinesh Mongia helped Punjab compile 190 for four against Andhra on the opening day of their Elite B group match here on Tuesday.


In Agartala: Tripura 163 & 137/8. Himachal Pradesh 80.

In Ahmedabad: Gujarat 190/9 (R. Powar 4/64) vs Mumbai.

In Bangalore: Karnataka 231/6 (B. M. Rowland 81, B. Akhil 48 ..) vs Delhi.

In Lucknow: Hyderabad 142 (A. W. Zaidi 3/40, S. Srivastava 3/30, Piyush Chawla 3/20). Uttar Pradesh 101/1 (S. Shukla 58 ..).

In New Delhi: Maharashtra 55/1 vs Railways.

In New Delhi: Baroda 82/1 (P. Shah 42 ..) vs Services

In Vishakhapatnam: Punjab 190/4 (D. Mongia 52 ..) vs Andhra Pradesh. (PTI)

Email This Page