The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
India likely to name same XII

Calcutta: An announcement hadn’t been made till late on Sunday, but The Telegraph learns that the Team India XII for Monday’s tri-series game against Zimbabwe is going to remain unchanged.

“The super sub will either be Yalaka Venugopal Rao or Ashish Nehra, depending on what the thinktank feels in the lead-up to the toss,” a well-placed source pointed out from Harare.

Venugopal, therefore, can sleep easy ' he won’t have to cool his heels for falling first ball to Shane Bond on Friday.

The youngster, it may be recalled, was our super sub in Bulawayo.

Agencies add from Harare: Bond dented Team India’s pride in their Videocon Cup tri-series clash on Friday.

Come Monday, Sourav Ganguly’s men will get the chance to regain some of the lost confidence as they take on the lightweight hosts.

Nothing short of a crushing win will erase memories of the 51-run defeat the other day. The bowlers did their job, it’s the batsmen who will have to pull up their socks.

Zimbabwe should have enough motivation to do well. They have seen too many bad days in the middle and even the return of the seniors made little difference the other day.


India (from): Sourav Ganguly (captain), Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Yuvraj Singh, Y. Venugopal Rao, Mohammed Kaif, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Harbhajan Singh, Ashish Nehra, Irfan Pathan, Ajit Agarkar, J.P. Yadav.

Zimbabwe (from): Tatenda Taibu (captain), Heath Streak, Andy Blignaut, Stuart Carlisle, Chamunowa Chibhabha, Charles Coventry, Keith Dabengwa, Gavin Ewing, Blessing Mahwire, Hamilton Masakadza, Waddington Mwayenga, Edward Rainsford, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Brendon Taylor, Prosper Utseya, Craig Wishart.

Email This Page