The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
IPS shuffle floodgates open
- Officers barred from poll duty among 66 shifted

Calcutta, May 25: With the poll model code off its back, the state government today carried out a sweeping shuffle of the police establishment, transferring as many as 57 IPS and nine WBPS officers in one fell swoop.

Those transferred include three IPS officers who were barred from election duty on the recommendation of the poll panel.

Chief minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee signed the transfer orders during the day. Home secretary Amit Kiran Deb said tonight that the transfers were due for a long time but they could not be implemented because of the May 10 elections.

“In the course of the bulk transfers, we have also promoted a number of IPS officers. Though it is a routine affair, such a huge shuffle will bring in more efficiency in the force,” he said.

Former North 24-Parganas superintendent of police Basudeb Bag, who was made special superintendent of police of the intelligence branch following the poll panel’s recommendation, will assume charge as SSP, Criminal Investigation Department.

Benoy Chakraborty, who was barred from election duty as Nadia SP and transferred to the intelligence branch as special superintendent of police on the poll panel’s directive, has been reinstated.

B.N. Ramesh, who has an inquiry pending against him following charges of corruption while he was posted as superintendent of police, railways (SRP, Sealdah), has been transferred as special superintendent of police, intelligence branch.

Ramesh held the post of North 24-Parganas SP and he will be succeeded by Praveen Kumar, Midnapore West SP.

South 24-Parganas SP D.K. Ganguly has been promoted as DIG (operations), CID. He will be replaced by S.N. Gupta, the Jalpaiguri SP.

C.V. Muralidhar, the DIG, CID, has been transferred as DIG, IB, border. He has been replaced by D.P. Tarenia, who held charge as DIG (administration).

Partha Bhattacharya, IG (armed police), has been transferred as additional commissioner of police (I) of Calcutta police. The post was vacant since Prasun Mukherjee was transferred as additional DG, railways, four months ago.

Soumen Mitra, deputy commissioner of police, detective department (I), has been promoted as joint commissioner of police (organisation).

He will be succeeded by Peeyush Pandey, the deputy commissioner of traffic division. A.K. Sharma, DC, Calcutta armed police, third battalion, will replace Pandey as DC (traffic).

B.K. Malik, DC, Calcutta armed police, fifth battalion, will assume office as DC (north). S.P. Sarkar, special IG and DIG (PCC), has been transferred as IG, welfare.

V.V. Thambi, IG, IB, North Bengal, will assume charge as IG (traffic) of West Bengal police. He will be replaced by S.N. Sarkar, who now holds dual charge as special additional commissioner of Calcutta police and joint commissioner of police (organisation).

H.P. Singh, DC (headquarters), has been promoted as DIG (administration). He will be replaced by Sanjay Mukherjee, DC (I) of the special branch. K.C. Meena, Burdwan SP, has been promoted as DIG (armed police), Siliguri.

Email This Page