The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Voting in Manipur peaceful

Imphal, May 17: Voting in 13 polling centres in the Vangai range of Churachandpur district and repoll in eight booths in Jiribam Assembly seat under Outer Manipur parliamentary constituency was held peacefully today.

Officials at the election control room here said voting was held under tight security and no untoward incident took place. Sources said 40 to 50 armed personnel were deployed at each polling station, despite mobile security teams patrolling the area.

Voting in the 13 booths in Churachandpur districtís Tipaimukh Assembly constituency was adjourned on April 20, the polling day for the Outer seat, as polling personnel could not reach the designated places because of landslides along the Imphal-Tamenglong Road.

The Election Commission ordered repolling in the eight booths in Jiribam after voting was disrupted following snatching of electronic voting machines and poll materials on April 20. The voting was scheduled to be held on May 5, but the Election Commission deferred the polling indefinitely because of security reasons. Senior police officials from Imphal were stationed at Jiribam to supervise the security measures today.

While the poll percentage in Jiribam was reported to be very low, the voter turnout in Vangai range was massive.

Official sources here said polling was brisk in Vangai range since early in the morning. The election office, however, said detailed information was not available till 4 pm as the booths were located in the interior areas.

The additional deputy commissioner of Jiribam said over phone that the polling recorded till 3.30 pm was below 10 per cent.

Official sources said the low voter turnout at Jiribam was due to the call given by the United National Liberation Front (UNLF) to boycott the parliamentary elections in Manipur. The outfit had called a general strike on polling day in the Inner and Outer constituencies.

Counting for the Outer constituency, where six candidates are in the fray, will be held on Wednesday.

The candidates are sitting MP Holkhomang Haokip (NCP), D. Loli Adanee (BJP), former MP Kim Gangte (Manipur Peoplesí Party), Rosang Zuala (Janata Dal-Secular), Morung Makunga (Trinamul Congress) and Independent candidate Mani Charenamei. Charenamei and Zuala are new faces.

Email This Page