The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Malaysian duo triumphs

Calcutta: The Petronas Eon Racing Team of Karamjit Singh and Allen Oh from Malaysia won the Asia Pacific Rally Championship, sealing a victory in its last leg, the MRF India Rally 2003, in Pune Sunday.

The Malaysian duo, driving a Proton, held on to their overnight lead in the overall placing, finishing fastest in all the three special stages run in the third and final leg of the rally.

Team MRF Tyres, comprising Armin Kremer and Fred Berssen from Germany, finished second to clinch the Production (Group N) APRC title, according to information reaching here.

Karamjit and Allen were winners of the India Rally too.

This rally has gained respectability in being one of the most gruelling that Indian drivers have been in. And the Indian rally championship of the MAI has now replaced the national circuit of the FMSCI.

Karamjit later said: “I came to this rally to win it and I am happy that I have won it. Though I am a Malaysian citizen, I am an Indian by birth and it makes it special to have this win in India.”

Sponsorship problems prevented Karamjit from taking part in the Australian leg of the APRC and in Japan he had gearbox problems, while the China leg got cancelled.

He said he will be driving in the World Rally Championship in the Production Cars class next year. He will also be around in the Asia Pacific Rally. “We might build a car based on the Mitsubishi Evo 8 and the present car would become a recee car,” he said.

Email This Page