The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Henry joins Ronaldo, Zidane

Paris: Arsenal’s Thierry Henry, his fellow Frenchman Zinedine Zidane, and Brazilian striker Ronaldo have been nominated for the world football Player of the Year award, Fifa said on Wednesday.

World Cup winner Ronaldo, who along with Zidane, plays for Spanish giants Real Madrid, was last year awarded Fifa’s prize.

This year, it will be announced at a gala dinner in Basel, Switzerland on December 15.

World football’s governing body has asked 142 national team coaches to decide the vote by listing their three favourite players. The first choice is worth five points, the second choice three and their last choice one point.

In the women’s category United States forward Mia Hamm, who has twice won the title, in 2001 and 2002, is pitted alongside Birgit Prinz.

Prinnz a key member of Germany’s 2003 World Cup winning team, and Sweden’s Hanna Ljungberg.

Last year Ronaldo won with 387 points, with Germany and Bayern Munich goalkeeper Oliver Kahn second on 171 and Zidane third on 148.

Email This Page